Feast logo

Jerk @ Nite: The Spice You Need in Your Life

Spice is life.

By Monique WillPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Jerk at Nite's brick-and-mortar location in the H Street Corridor of Washington, DC. Image Credit: Jerk at Nite's Facebook Page.

When it comes to trying new foods, you wouldn’t call me the most open-minded. I’m weird about textures, smells, and question almost everything put in front of me on a plate. I very rarely stray away from the restaurants I know when eating out; a creature of habit if you will. On top of that, I’m originally from Chicago, which arguably has the best food in the country. My standards are high, so I was really disappointed with the food options when moving to DC. That was until I discovered Jerk at Nite.

The Start-Up

Jerk at Nite is owned by fellow Howard University alumni Kareem Todd and Denville Myrie, who in 2013 started cooking Jerk Chicken and other Jamaican dishes out of a dorm room and delivering the meals to other students. The name “Jerk at Nite” alluded to their hours of operation, which in the early years was only at night, typically between 10pm and 4am. You can imagine this was a welcomed alternative to a greasy slice of pizza for students pulling all-nighters.

“With a focus on hearty, affordable, and original Jamaican-infused treats with an exotic mix of Mexican and American soul, Jerk at Nite created an avenue within the community by bringing people a healthy late night food option.” - Jerkatnite.com

The Journey

A shot of the Jerk at Nite food truck as I waited in line.

Although my time at Howard University did overlap with the founders, it wasn’t until 2015 when I discovered their food truck in downtown Washington, D.C. The enticing aromas and Caribbean tunes blasting from inside drew me over. As I walked up to place my order, I noticed the Howard University alumni sticker proudly placed for everyone to see. I tried their jerk tacos that day and I’ve been hooked ever since.

Jerk tacos with a side of rice and peas.

Their operations grew from one food truck to two by 2017, and in 2018, it was announced they had found a home in the trendy H Street Corridor in DC to open a brick-and-mortar location. They spent over 180K in renovations to convert the old dry cleaners to a restaurant. The most admirable part of it all? They did it without a single bank loan or outside investor. They used the profits from their food truck operations and garnered additional support from the community through GoFundMe campaigns and other fundraising avenues.

Jerk at Nite has run into many bumps on their journey, including dealing with customer service issues like longer than normal wait times as demand increased, unwarranted complaints from competitor food trucks, and now the pandemic which slowed the progression of their restaurant opening. However, I’ve watched them constantly adjust, improve, and handle each problem with intelligence and grace.

The most recent issue they’ve run into is with the landlord of their restaurant on H street. Despite the pandemic, the landlord issued a notice to terminate their lease due to three months of unpaid rent. When a check was presented for the back rent, it was rejected so the landlord can move forward with the eviction. As I mentioned before, they’ve put over 180K into the buildout and the restaurant has not even opened for it’s first day of business yet. It would be a devastating outcome if they are forced to vacate that property. As a longtime supporter, I feel personally invested in their success.

I’m not the only one who feels this way. Jerk at Nite has a huge social media following and believes it has been able to stay afloat during the pandemic because of its loyal customers. The weekend after they posted about the landlord situation on Instagram and Twitter, there was an outpour of support through purchases, donations, and calls to save Jerk at Nite. I see people all the time say they will travel from all around the DMV area, driving sometimes close to 45 minutes, just to come and support. The photo below is an example of the typical crowd you would expect to find (pre-Covid) waiting to get a little taste of jerk heaven. The loyalty is real.

The G.O.A.T

I’m seriously obsessed with the food from Jerk at Nite. I would eat it every day if I could afford to do so. When there was only one food truck traveling around DC, I would stalk their social media to find out where they would be. If the craving was really bad, and they weren’t in my area that day, I would uber or take the train to their location. It was 100% worth it EVERY SINGLE TIME. I introduce everyone I can to this local gem, especially friends and family who visit from out of town, because I feel it would be selfish if I didn’t.

If I haven't said enough to convince you already, here are three reasons why Jerk at Nite has the BEST food in DC:

1. The quality

Everything is fresh, natural, and organic. No reason to worry about your food being packed with preservatives, hormones, or artificial ingredients.

2. The spices

This food is guaranteed to make you shed a tear. The problem is you won’t be able to tell if it’s because of the spices or the sheer joy you’ll experience with every bite. But seriously, you’ll find many of the spices used in their dishes are extremely beneficial to your health, including black pepper, allspice, thyme, garlic, onion, and cayenne .

3. The options

There’s something on the menu for everybody no matter your diet or lifestyle. They continue to expand and upgrade their offerings as the business grows. They also have a partnership with another local DMV business (@mixinmimi) to provide amazing fresh lemonades and juices to go along with your meal. (Trust me you’ll want to keep a drink nearby.)

I’ll leave you with a few pictures of my personal favorites from their mouth-watering menu. As their tagline says, “Do Ya Body Rite” and try Jerk at Nite.

restaurants
3

About the Creator

Monique Will

Family over everything. Natural hair enthusiast. Writer. Lover of love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.