Feast logo

In memory of the 2 sandwich/subs l'll never have again & it keeps me up at night

I think we all have that one food item from that one place that we think about all the time, but know we most likely will never have again

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
In memory of the 2 sandwich/subs l'll never have again & it keeps me up at night
Photo by Bimo Luki on Unsplash

Note: I will say sub/sandwich because I don't know what they were exactly. Pretty sure the second one was a sub. Does it matter?

Most, if not all, people have that food that brings them back to a specific time in their life. It's like when you smell the air and suddenly you are in the scholastic book fair at your elementary school.

Those same people have something like that for tastebuds. Sometimes, they will eat something and go, "Yo, grandma's house back in '06, yup."

Then, there are the sad people (like me & my mother) who wish they could eat something that would remind them of a special moment. A magical moment. The moment we ate at least one of the two sandwiches we continue to remember as if we haven't has a thousand plus sandwiches after those.

I wish I could remember the taste, the moment, heck the restaurant I got one of the sandwiches/subs at, and the other one I wish something just reminded me of it. "Wow, this tastes like that one sub we got in Bowling Green, Ohio." But no. Nothing has ever tasted close to that glorious sub/sandwich, I think. The issue is that we have subs/sandwiches that will forever haunt our tummy's brain (not our brain brain, those are seeminly useless here), but we shall never have a bite of them ever again.

This was almost just an ode to the sub I had circa 2010 in Wichita, Kansas. But, all I could say about that thing of beauty is:

unidentified meat

lettuce, I presume

Cheese of some sort

bread? That's what makes it a sandwich no?

And what?

mayo, oil, vinegar,

and that special special ingredient that makes my mother and I go, "Remember that sub we had years ago at that unknown sub place somewhere in Kansas?"

And our mouths do that watering things

our stomachs feel lost and confused

and angered at our brains for not dedicating a memory shrine to the restaurant

Anyway,

this is not just dedicated to the only good thing about Kansas (that sub/sandwich)

This is also dedicated to a top tier sandwich/sub from the one resturant by Bowling Green University. We sat down for a regular meal, but ended up having a life changing moment.

Honestly, I couldn't describe the flavor or the way the juices flowed from the sandwich to around my fingers

All I know is that I wanted to commit to that school purely because as we sat in that booth I thought

No way could I possibly forget such an esquisite meal, and no way will I only have one.

Alas, I did somewhat forget it

And no, we did not order a few to go

The school was far too expensive, and in the middle of nowhere. But, that sub played a pivotal part in my life

You know what, both the Kansas Sammich/sub and the Ohio sub made me who I am today.

I owe them everything. I owe my brain nothing. I will be forever indebted to my stomach and my tastebuds.

Honestly, even if I had those sandwiches again I probably would not know for sure because I mean...how would I? You could put a delectable sammich in front of me right now and say it's from one of those places, but I wouldn't know for sure. I wouldn't even know if that was the same one I ordered years ago. Isn't that so sad?

If anyone has any idea what sandwich/sub place I could have gone to in Kansas, please let me know. The Ohio one should definitely not be hard to find.

Anyway, thank you for reading this. Please like, comment, subscribe, pledge, and or tip or like send a telepathic message saying "Yo, this was garbage, but you did your best," and I would greatly appreciate it. I realize I sound like a Youtuber now. So, peace.

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.