Feast logo

How To Make Box Cake Mix Like The Pros

Take your box cake mix to the next level with this method used by professional bakers

By Jaye Ruggiero-CashPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
3
How To Make Box Cake Mix Like The Pros
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

Baking has always been one of those things that requires following the directions exactly. And normally that’s a good thing because it takes all the guesswork and confusion out. You don’t have to think too much. Just follow the directions and you’re good.

But sometimes, the directions we have in front of us aren’t all that great, which means we don’t end up with the best results.

Box cake mix is a prime example of this.

The first few times I tried to make gluten free box cake mix, I made it exactly as directed on the box, and it came out tasting like cardboard. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement.

For the last couple of years, I’ve been on a mission to build an arsenal of gluten free recipes. So far I’ve mastered brownies, chocolate chip cookies, and peanut butter cookies. But up until recently, I hadn’t yet mastered gluten free cake.

It ended up being one of the more difficult ones to figure out, and I lowkey started to think that I was doomed to be stuck with bad cake forever.

Thankfully, social media came through and sent another gold nugget my way in the form of this TikTok video:

This creator, Jordan_The_Stallion8, is known on TikTok as the President of the Fast Food Secrets Club, and shares all kinds of information, including recipes for popular fast food items so that people can make them at home. But he shares other cooking and baking tips too.

Basically this video of his talks about how professional bakers will often use box cake mix, but follow a slightly different version of the recipe on the box. This altered version replaces water with milk, oil with butter, and uses an extra egg.

As soon as I saw this, I knew that I had to try it. Even just from watching the video, I could tell that the cake looked delicious and visibly fluffy.

I had a good feeling this was going to help me finally get good gluten free cake.

And in addition to using the recipe from the video, I decided to take it up a notch. I included an extra step that my great aunt Josie used to use when she made cakes: add a packet of dry pudding mix to the cake batter (to this day, my family still raves about how good her cakes were because of this).

I recently made cupcakes with this new recipe for my birthday, and they were so delicious that I don’t think I’ll ever be able to shut up about it. This cake recipe is one to be reckoned with!

Recipe:

- 1 box cake mix

- 1 cup milk

- 4 eggs

- 2 sticks butter

- 1 package pudding mix

Bake according to the directions on the box

Also, I know I always talk about gluten free recipes, but this recipe works for regular baking too!

If you’re using regular box cake mix, you can use the method in the video and leave out the pudding, or vice versa. But if you’re using gluten free cake mix, I definitely encourage you to use both.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: the internet and social media have a way of showing us some incredible stuff. And it really came in clutch with this recipe, because this cake was everything we could ever hope for in cake!

Thanks so much for reading! If you enjoyed this recipe, I’d appreciate it so much if you shared it and left a heart, a tip, and a pledge!

And if you’re interested in more delicious recipes, check out some of my previously published ones below!

social mediarecipehow to
3

About the Creator

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Poet | Musician | Actor | Model

Lover of all things arts & humanities

Gluten-Free Foodie

"When we are shaped by the sounds and shades of truth, the colors never fade."

Join Vocal+ with my link

Follow Me!

Instagram

TikTok

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Salman khan4 months ago

    This TikTok-inspired cake recipe with a twist sounds incredibly delicious and promising for both gluten-free and regular baking enthusiasts. A delightful find on social media!" PrimeShred Review : https://www.outlookindia.com/outlook-spotlight/primeshred-review-uncovering-the-truth-behind-the-hype-news-332415

  • Great and interesting. Good, you included recipes!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.