Feast logo

Grandma’s Healing Chicken Soup

A Hug in a Bowl

By J GPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like
Chicken Soup

Title: Grandma’s Healing Chicken Soup - a Hug in a Bowl

The Story:

It was a dreary winter evening in Chicago, the cold wind biting into every part of me, as I came home from a long day at work. I had recently faced a layoff, and the interviews I'd gone to that day had all turned up fruitless. My heart was heavy, my spirits crushed, and the bleak weather outside mirrored my feelings inside. The weight of worry and uncertainty felt unbearable.

I knew once at home, I could just grab a glass of Vodka with Ice and lemon just to pass out. I knew this was going to be a long night where Imsonia could be welcome especially since both stress and anxiety were affecting my mind and body. My hope was just to avoid all this upcoming discomfort and forget about what happened during the day.

When I opened the door to my home, I was greeted by an aroma that instantly evoked memories of my childhood. It was the smell of soup, my grandma’s chicken soup, a dish she used to make whenever I was unwell or downhearted. As I stepped further inside, I was greeted by a familiar sight: my grandma, cozily seated on the couch, her eyes shining bright. With that special smile of hers, she looked like a comforting beacon in my own home.

"I thought you might need this," she said, handing me a bowl filled to the brim with that familiar, hearty soup. That evening, as I sat with her, savoring the soup and sharing my concerns, that bowl of soup felt like a warm hug, reminding me of the love and support I had in my life.

The Recipe: Grandma's Healing Chicken Soup

Ingredients:

Chicken (bone-in) - 500 grams

Carrots - 2, chopped

Celery - 2 stalks, chopped

Onions - 1 large, chopped

Garlic cloves - 3, minced

Salt - to taste

Black pepper - to taste

Fresh parsley - a handful, chopped

Water - 1.5 liters

Instructions:

Start by cleaning the chicken and cutting it into sizable pieces.

In a large pot, add the chicken pieces and water, ensuring that the chicken is completely submerged.

Add salt and bring the mixture to a boil. Once boiling, reduce the heat to low.

Skim off any impurities that rise to the top.

Add in the chopped carrots, celery, onions, and minced garlic.

Cover the pot and let it simmer on low heat for about 2 hours.

Once the chicken is fully cooked and the vegetables are soft, remove the chicken pieces and shred the meat, discarding the bones.

Return the shredded chicken meat to the pot and season with black pepper.

Garnish with fresh parsley before serving.

Grandma's Tip: The magic is in the slow simmer. The longer you allow it to simmer, the richer and more healing the soup becomes.

The Affirmation:

"To the wonderful soul preparing this soup, may each spoonful warm your heart, lift your spirits, and remind you that even in the chilliest moments, love and warmth are just a bowl away. Remember, challenges are temporary, but the comfort and strength you draw from loved ones and cherished memories will always remain."

Reason for Choosing:

This content embraces all the components of the challenge. The story offers a setting filled with emotion and showcases how food can be more than sustenance – it can be a source of comfort and love. The recipe is detailed and simple, making it approachable for anyone to recreate. Lastly, the affirmation ties back to the story, evoking feelings of warmth, love, and hope, thus passing on the positive vibes to the next person cooking the dish.

recipecuisine
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.