Feast logo

Germerican Pancakes

It's a lot like a sweet yorkshire pudding, but not bad at all - I will definitely make it again!

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
5
Photo credit: me

Pretty sure it's an American recipe. But they call them German pancakes, or Dutch pancakes. (I think they see DEUTSCH and leap to conclusions, but this is the country that can't cope with long words like PHILOSOPHER so what do you expect.)

Here's the ingredients

For the pancake -

½ cup each milk and plain flour

Pinch of salt, splurp of vanilla (extract you heathens, we have spoken about beaver anuses before.)

3 eggs (THREE!!! I know! 😱)

Knobs of butter (eyeball it, babe - you want it to melt and generously coat the bottom of the pan)

For the topping:-

Whatever the fluck you want.

How to:-

Stick the oven on HOT, like 220ish, maybe 225. Or a smidge lower if you have a fan. (That's a fan assisted oven, not someone who, like, really, really likes you.) That's celsiu, of course.

Splob your knobs on a baking sheet (rimmed, har har, so it doesn't splosh everyfuckingwhere) and pop that in the oven while it warms.

Whisk the rest of the pancake ingredients together while you wait for the butter to melt.

Bake for 20 mins.

I know, right? Deceptively easy.

Notes

👎 DON'T be a muppet and try to hold the pan level while you pour the batter in because you will fail and make a mess. Put the bastard thing down. It's bloody hot.

👍 A metal pan is ideal. Glass (ovenproof, OBVIOUSLY) would be ok, but metal is better.

👍 It puffs up like a beaut, but does sink after a while. So you've got to eat it while it's fresh and hot. Oh nuuuuu, what a shame, etc etc.

👍 It really does puff up spectacularly. So much so I laughed when I took mine out of the oven. It was huuuuuuge! It had risen so much it started to touch the top of the oven and some areas were juuust starting to catch a little. But it brought me joy, anyway. I should have got a photo, because it tickled me.

👍 Americans eat it for breakfast, but I reckon in Germany they'd probably eat something like this as a dessert. Or maybe as a snack around lunchtime.

Variations

👍 Chuck some fruit on there, squirty cream, icing sugar, syrup, whatever. I recommend both syrup AND icing sugar, but just a little of each (drizzle iiiiitttt!!) and a squirtsch of cream on the side. You can be fancy and whip some chantilly style, but who has the time? This is an American recipe, so lean into the skid and use the canned stuff. When you start using cheese from a can, that's when you know it's really all over for you. A smattering of fruit allows you to con yourself that you're being healthy. Blueberries worked well.

👍 I'm gonna caramelise some apple slices to go on it next time.

👍 We've got some good quality maple syrup in the cupboard, I might experiment with that as well.

👍 You could easily leave the vanilla out and make these savoury. Say, with cheese and herbs.

👍 Next time I do a roast, I'm going to try this batter recipe and see how well it works for Yorshires. That's more eggs than I would normally use, as you might be able to tell, but I think this might help them go outrageously puffy, which is the dream. My Yorkshires are normally only moderately puffy, at best. I think using the 12 hole pan rather than a single sheet, will make a difference to the texture, and they will hold their shape quite well if cooked that way.

+++++++

Have you had these?

Let me know if you give it a go!

+++++++

Want more of my stuff in your eyes, or better yet, your mouth-hole?

Look no further, sweet traveller.

vegetarianrecipehow tocuisine
5

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes16 days ago

    Beaver anuses??? Nevermind, I don't wanna know. 🤣

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    😊👍 Sounds delicious. I love much German food.

  • Madoka Moriabout a year ago

    Currently eating this right now. Mine is definitely more pancake-coloured, rather than the rich brown in your picture, but it's still the best thing I've done with 3 eggs! To go with it I made a sort of sauce with melted butter, vanilla, and honey because apparently I'm not chubby enough.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.