Feast logo

Flavor in Balance

How my food journey has turned into a passion

By Jasmine FavorPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
My Raw Kale Taco Salad w/garlic Tahini sauce

I’m just gonna get right into it. At sixteen, I diagnosed myself with HS (hidradenitis Suppurativa) through Google. My doctor confirmed it at a same day appointment once I finally told my Mother, I was beyond crushed, confused, and trying to figure out what and who to blame. I suffered with severe symptoms for year’s until I discovered an herbal detox through a colleague at 22 and decided to try it, I trusted myself to be disciplined enough to get through and see some positive results. Before that, I looked at HS strictly as a skin disorder but this was before my further research of autoimmune diseases.

I started it on a 3 day weekend per my colleague's strong suggestion. This detox included herbs that we’re known historically to eliminate parasites in the colon caused by toxic food buildup. While on the cleanse, the foods that had to be eliminated was, all meats, fish, eggs, white sugar, white flour, white potatoes, and white rice; dairy too!

So once I began this detox, I really started to think broadly about my meals. At that point, my lifestyle had changed completely and my mind and body followed. I was only permitted Fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds, brown rice, and other grains such as oatmeal, and quinoa. I’d have a bowl of oatmeal with apples, cinnamon, and maple syrup most mornings or a fruit smoothie. Lunch usually was a Greek salad(no feta) with a lemon vinaigrette, some garden veggie soup, or steamed veggies with brown rice. Everyday I was planning my meals which I never was into before. Once the detox was over, I got pregnant! It makes a lot of sense knowing what I know now about how toxins effect every point of your body negatively. I’d dropped 21lbs and toned up in that little bit of time (2 months) so I felt amazing! I was fearlessly riding my bike halfway to work ( pre-pregnancy) and one night I even rode my bike the full 8 miles from work to home. Yea, that was brutal on my calves, ha!

Ok, 2013. Gave birth to my sweet girl and HS came back with a vengeance, I had severe armpit abscesses weekly and cystic acne across my jawline. See, during my pregnancy, I went back to all those foods I grew up eating and then some. Whew! I’d decided to do some research on cures or treatments and discovered Gluten, Dairy, and processed Sugar we’re the top three HS triggers. These three triggers are really what I avoid to this day and I’ve had minimal symptoms for years.

My passion for cooking has matured from snacking on whatever vegan or gluten free snacks and quick boxed “organic “ oven meals I could find to months working with only fruit, veggies, nuts and seeds during my summer anti-inflammatory detoxes. I’ve had an extremely strong curiosity and connection to different ethnic foods for as long as I can remember, I’ve developed a passion for re-creating classic dishes while seeking to still experience top notch flavors maintaining respect to my food sensitivities; from Indian style Chickpea Masala to my own less fancy spin on Ratatouille. Maintaining the flavors, textures and aroma is always my priority. When someone tastes a meal I create, I don’t want them to feel like they’re missing ANYTHING! I love working with spices like chili and ginger because they’re considered warming spices which are good for inflammation and essentially assists in preventing flare ups. Over the past 3 years I’ve developed my own delicious recipes with my favorite comfort meals transformed to fit my healing. For instance, I grew up on all the soul food favorites around the holidays like mac and cheese and collard greens. I make my dairy free mac and cheese using brown rice macaroni noodles, cashew milk, vegan coconut &chickpea based “cheezes" and season with salt, pepper, paprika, and a secret ingredient! I don’t make it often but it’s most definitely a palette pleaser. I tested it on friends and family and they approved!

Another one of my go to’s are vegan chili, I’m always testing out different versions of it but the best pot I’ve made to my own taste starts with onions, garlic, green pepper, sautéed in olive oil then I added cubed sweet potato, and sweet corn. I tested my own custom blend of chili seasoning including garlic powder, pink salt, smoked paprika, and black pepper. I used canned kidney and cannellini beans and stewed tomatoes, as well as vegan liquid smoke seasoning for a super savory flavor. This recipe was a real winner with one of my past colleagues who I enjoy talking food with. She specifically mentioned enjoying the sweet potatoes for a different spin on the average chili recipe.

As a stylist, of course working in such a highly social environment, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and chatting with chefs, restaurant owners, and foodies galore. As well as bringing some of my favorite dishes into work for my colleagues and clients to try. I take joy in people enjoying my food, I’ve even had the pleasure of being invited over to some acquaintances homes to show them how to prepare a meal I let them sample. That was very rewarding.

Fall of 2019 while leaving work after a grueling day of back to back clients, I just sat with myself for a minute and realized I was gonna have to grocery shop AND make two separate dinners after picking my daughter up from school as I did quite often. That’s when this idea came to me. It’s not that I didn’t WANT to cook, it was all the other things I had to do, the prepping, the cleaning before and after. Once I’d made meals at home(even quick ones) and cleaned up after myself I really couldn’t get that quality time in with my daughter I’d wanted. Like, we had to rush home,, rush cooking, rush eating to get to bed at a decent hour for the next day. I figured, what if there was a space where families or individuals who wanted true home cooked meals that were pleasing but didn’t have time for the before and after tasks could come, cook, eat, and leave? No messes to clean or cutting/chopping; even kids could participate. I started brain storming and of course with my spirit already seeking another form of income in which I would have more family time and give people quality food and a stress free dining experience was expanding this idea to become a reality. I picture week day dinner and weekend brunch menus with a carryout option as well for those who don’t want to cook.

I started researching commercial kitchen rentals and shared kitchens in my Detroit community and even research my local licensing protocol for a space of that nature to run successfully. I would love to make this a reality one day, even on a small scale. As far as more reachable options, I want to start advertising my Raw Kale Taco salads massaged with garlic Tahini sauce, it got me through my raw cleanse and kept me energized for my work days. To monetize this, I’d like a larger kitchen to work in, I’m already pricing biodegradable to go boxes and cutlery that will maintainthe integrity of my salad's presentation; cooler bags or some form of refrigeration on their journeys to customers, a quality giant buggy on wheels so I can distribute salads easily if I have to deliver. I would need to invest in good kitchen appliances needed such a larger food processor and some quality knives as for chopping fresh veggies; I need a food budget and there are plenty of local urban farms and community gardens in the city that want go build relationships with. Also, I need a quality walnut plug.

I’d use my Instagram as a platform to post salad menus, pricing, pick up/delivery options as well as a space for reviews and consumer wants so I could develop more recipes based off my audiences tastes. I envision myself spending 2-3 hrs 3 days a week preparing my salad’s, taking order payments via Square or Cashapp , and carrying my 4 month little assistant to and from my car making our rounds to hungry foodies!

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Favor

I'm a lifelong creative building my voice and skill with a positive atmosphere of cultural awareness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.