Journal logo

My Niche

A Labor of love

By Jasmine FavorPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My room spray prototype

I got acquainted with my love for bath and body products really young. Basically anything that could be used for hygiene, I was interested! My favorite aisles at any store would be ( in no particular order), dental care, face/skin products, travel size products, and body washes/lotions. I just love/d the steps in self care from top to bottom; There were a couple of summers in my preteens where I spent large parts of the day doing my own pedicures, YES I had time, like, detailed pedicures with polish and designs, I’d just about perfected a French tip by the time I was 13.

I think that’s what opened my mind to DIY, besides Martha Stewart, which I watched faithfully weekday mornings for years. My fascination with ingredients and how things worked led me to creating my own hair conditioners every Sunday throughout high school, by that time, Googling was a thing, and boy did I use IT!

I started reading this book called “How to do just about anything “, it had to be published in the 70's but it was full of pretty relevant DIYs, I learned how to cut my own bangs and layers which came in handy because I wasn’t a salon kid ironically. Fast forward 5 years and who knew I’d be using that exact skill in training to become a stylist. These days I’ve plunged into Ayurvedic healing herbs, clays, essential oils, and crystals. My focus is healing the mind, body, and spirit. I started my LLC during the early months of the pandemic in 2020 while struggling with the new realities of intense financial uncertainty, stay home orders, masks, virtual learning, and a pregnancy! I’d been wrecking my brain trying to figure out my first product of my lifelong dream of being in the wellness and beauty industry. I knew I wanted to focus on scent first and the countless benefits of essential oils and their effects on the brain, mood, and the organs.

So here I am, mixing, smelling, and squinting into tiny glass bottles. Every drop of root, flower, or fruit oil put into it, creates a new experience in scent and adds benefits of mental soundness that I want to share with people like me. This new lesson in my creative journey is feeling like I’m finally finding my true craft, and the feeling is so grounding.

One of my favorite essential oil blends is Clove, Orange, and peppermint. Oh my God! First off, clove is so so warm and inviting, almost intoxicating, it reminds me of my Grandmother and her favorite chewing gum, Big Red. The orange just adds that citrusy spark and sweetness, it’s a serious mood booster. The coolness of peppermint balances the aroma of this blend as well as whomever or wherever it’s applied within a carrier oil. I would always use this blend on my clients in the winter months because it de-stresses, warms, increases blood circulation, and gives a very Christmassy vibe.

I Also sprinkled it all over the house during the holidays mixed into baking soda for an all natural carpet refresher. I’d let it sit a few minutes and vacuum the remainder leaving an amazing scent experience. Clove is also a natural aphrodisiac *wink *wink!

My second favorite oil to date, stands alone. The romantic floral notes of Geranium! It’s benefits make it one of my staple oils for well, everything!! Geranium has been scientifically shown to aid in anxiety, depression, infections, and carry anti-inflammatory properties which benefit me tremendously in my healing journey (Autoimmune Survivor). Once again referencing my Grandma, she traveled to Spain during her early retirement and brought back a bar of soap that changed my life. It was wrapped in wax paper with a Flamingo dancer in a red flowing dress in mid twirl painted image wrapping over the wax . The scent of this oval shaped bar lasted for years, it was a spiced floral beautiful aroma forever locked in my memory. Geranium takes me there every time.

To happy.

career
1

About the Creator

Jasmine Favor

I'm a lifelong creative building my voice and skill with a positive atmosphere of cultural awareness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.