Feast logo

Facebook Recipe in Action: Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

Let's see how it works!

By Restless WandererPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
Facebook Recipe in Action: Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

Being an expat overseas can sometimes be difficult, especially when craving a tasty homemade treat! It's a struggle to find sweets or food from back home. Nothing tastes the same as Mom's cooking or something you found at the bakery in your small little town.

Wanting baked goods really hits home when it's the holiday season or someone's birthday. These are the times you want to celebrate with a little tradition from home to ease some of the homesickness that lingers in the back of your mind. While living abroad is amazing and wonderful, sometimes it's nice to be comforted.

As an expat, we have this adaptability that enables us to learn how to cook or bake almost anything! Now, it may not be the best or even close to perfect, but it's something that gets us one step closer to that taste of home.

Now, where do I come up with these recipes? Most of them I whip on the fly (when it comes to cooking), but baking is a whole different ball game! Facebook is flooded with baking recipes from Keto and Vegan to sugar galore.

I've decided to finally try one of these famous recipes that keeps popping up on Facebook. I thought, "Why not? What's the worst that could happen?"

Granted, I'm a decent baker when it comes to scones, biscuits, cookies, pies, and brownies. But... cakes? No, that's not one of my talents.

BUT....

Seeing it's my mother's birthday, I decided to dabble with Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes! This is one of her favorite desserts of all time but in a cupcake form.

(For the recipe, check out the link at the bottom of the page!)

Here are the results!

Yes, they look like turds, but they are delcious and lovely looking turds! They're my perfect turd looking Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes!

After baking these delicious cupcakes, I decided to jote down a few notes. Here are some of the notes and lessons I took away from making these!

Cupcake Batter

  • This ended up dense and less fluffy than boxed cakes. (This meant I could put in less custard in the middle.)
  • Maybe I should've whipped the butter and sugar a little bit more before adding in the other ingredients.

Custard

  • This one turned out fairly well.
  • Waiting for the milk to simmer took forever on an electric stove. (I miss my gas stove.)
  • It was very thick and a little jelly like, but it had great flavoring!

Ganache Frosting

  • The chocolate was amazing! When isn't chocolate amazing???
  • It was a little runny though, so I added anothe cup of chocolate chips and let it cool down.
  • After it was cool, I whipped the ganache using the paddle attachment for the mixer. That did wonders! It made it nice and fluffy! It was perfect for decorating the cupcakes.

After making this cake, I decided to do some research. I read about a few tips to make the cake batter better.

  • Use more baking powder or baking soda.
  • Sift the flour first before putting it in.
  • Don't whip the batter too much.

I'm not sure if these tips actually work, but they are worth a shot! I will be testing them out in the future to see if they truly make a difference. Baking is like doing multiple experiments. You never know exactly how it will turn out.

If you've reached this far, thank you! I appreciate you taking time to read the article. If you or anyone you know knows any tricks on how to make cupcakes less dense, PLEASE fill me in! I would LOVE to hear everyone's thoughts and comments!

RECIPE BELOW!

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

recipediycuisine
1

About the Creator

Restless Wanderer

Traveling is an experience that opens your eyes to the wonders all around you. Sometimes the hidden gems are not as far as you think. I'm here to help you enjoy the little things in life and find fun activities to do!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.