Feast logo

Coffee

Coffee is Life

By T. CoxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I love coffee. I can't lie it's my favorite drink. There is so many ways to enjoy coffee. You can put it in brownies. You have it iced or hot. The whipped cream, regular creamer, flavored creamer. You can drink it with sugar or without. There are so many different brands. You can have a light,medium, or dark roast. If your daring you can drink espresso. You can add it to hot chocolate. I love the smell, the taste, the complexity of the different brands. Is coffee a way of life or just a way to get energy to start your day? As a true coffee drinker it is a way of life. I enjoy it in the morning, afternoon, or evening. It represents comfort. The way it smells so differently from brand to brand. You can decide how strong you need it by adding more or less. I have tried so many from McDonald's to Starbucks. I have drank gas station to home roasted coffees. In Columbus, we have so many different coffeehouses it is amazing. A muffin and a hot cup of coffee is breakfast to me. My first sip is always the best. I can feel my body wake up. Sometimes the coffee pot can make all the difference. I remember the days of instant coffee and then to have a cup of fresh brewed coffee. It is the difference between a beeper and a cell phone. I have heard so many different opinion about whether coffee helps or hurts you. Coffee has been a staple in American life for a very long time. I can only imagine when the first person tried coffee what their thoughts were. I love my coffee extremely hot. I have switched to iced coffee to enjoy on the hottest days. A cold brew is even better a bit of cream and caramel there is nothing better in the afternoon when you needed a pick me up and want to change things up.

Although, coffee is still life the price is ridiculous. Now a cup of coffee is close to $3 at a fancy coffeehouse. If the money was going to the farmers I would willingly pay more. But I believe the companies are lining their pockets at the top level. The coffee has not changed and it is one of the simplest items to make. I miss the conversation of the wonderful baristas. I commend the coffee shops that offer a pay what you can. It makes you want to pay more so that the next person who can't afford it can have a wonderful day too.

The coffee wasn't affected by COVID we never ran out of coffee.To see people take advantage of such a simple staple leaves me wondering what will be next. I use to go to the fancy coffee houses. Now I go as a special treat. This is my way of telling them I am agitated. I noticed the shorter lines and less people inside. I also notice people are not getting multiple items like they were before. The games you offer are entertaining but I've figured out the hook. You get me to buy and spend more money than you will ever give me. It was enjoyable until it wasn't.

Coffee is a comfort. It can make you happy or smile when you are sad. Who could ask for more. It is good all year round. I appreciate the farmers for giving me such a precious gift. It's a conversation starter. Try giving someone a cup of coffee to start their day as a gift. Their smile couldn't get brighter. What more could you ask for?

feature
1

About the Creator

T. Cox

I've been writing for years off and on poetry, fiction, and romance stories. I've decided it's now or never. You have to put your toes in the water to know the temperature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.