Feast logo

Chocolate Chip Lava Cookies

A cookie recipe with an unexpected helper

By Monique StarPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

While on social media, one of the accounts I see posts from is from the account Tasty. Their website consists of various dishes and recipes that I wanted to try, yet didn’t have all the necessities for. Some time ago, however, I actually found one I had nearly all the ingredients for; they’re basically chocolate chip cookies with chocolate in the middle and made in a muffin tin.

Here are the ingredients for six cookies:

1 stick unsalted butter, 1 stick, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon canola oil

½ cup granulated sugar

1 pinch kosher salt

1 large egg

¼ cup cornstarch

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

6 chocolate truffles (when I was making them at home, I didn’t have chocolate truffles, but I had leftover chocolate bars from when my family and I made s’mores, so pieces of those can work as well)

Once you know where all the needed ingredients are, it’s time for you to get started.

1. In a large bowl, combine the butter, vanilla, canola oil, sugar, and salt and beat with a hand mixer until smooth (in my home and late at night, I had the choices of an electric mixer and a fork, so I used the fork).

2. Add the egg and mix until well incorporated.

3. Add the cornstarch, flour, and chocolate chips. Using a spatula, mix well until fully combined.

4. Cover the dough with plastic and chill in the fridge at least 30 minutes to overnight

5. Grease a 6-cup muffin tin with nonstick spray. Divide the cookie dough into 12 portions. Take one and line the base and sides of a cup. Repeat with the remaining cups.

6. Fill each cookie cup with a chocolate truffle.

7. Take another portion of cookie dough, flatten with your fingers to create a 2-inch (5-cm) circle. Place the circle over the top of the filling, and press down the edges to make sure it seals to the other dough. Repeat with the remaining cookies.

8. Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes.

9. Preheat the oven to 375˚F (190˚C).

10. Bake for 15 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. Remove from the oven until cool to the touch, for 5 minutes.

11. Enjoy!

When it comes to making the cookies, here are some things that I have learned: like when you’re eating peanut butter sandwich, it’s best to include milk with your dessert, otherwise you will feel like part of your mouth is stuck. If you want to enjoy the feeling of melted chocolate, it’s best to not have your cookies cooled too much. To avoid making a mess, having a cookie in a bowl with a spoon or a fork might be beneficial. Dividing the cookie dough into equal portions is more important than you think unless you want to struggle putting the chocolate in the middle of the cookie. If you don’t have regular plastic like in the demonstration, being the kind of person who hoards plastic shopping bags comes in handy. If you’re in a situation where you doubled the recipe and you don’t have enough space to remove the cookies from your tin, placing a clean towel across your bed is a good substitute if the bed and towel are big enough.

The above methods and tips tend to prove that you don’t need to have all the exact necessities as long as you have most of them, time on your hands, and enough space. Obviously, I’m not a professional when it comes to baking; I’m just an introvert with a sweet tooth and I still managed to bring the recipe to life without too much of a hassle. 😌

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Monique Star

I'm not the most sophisticated adult out there. I'm also not the best at communicating all the time, but I do try my best to get my thoughts out there into the world verbally or nonverbally.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.