Feast logo

Brownie

How chocolate could make you feel sometimes

By The Food GuyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The sign says:

“Try the most chocolate brownie ever made.

Only today!

Same friendly price -

DOUBLE the size”

I got it!

No way, you are lying.

No no no. I have it. It’s right here. Look.

Wow. That makes me super happy. Can I have it?

No way. It’s mine. I got it.

I want it. I want it too. Can I have it? Please?

Nahaa. This belongs to me. I’m gonna eat it alone. I got it - I eat it.

Oh no. This makes me sad. I want some too.

You should have been first to steal it then!

Steal? Me? Nooo… Did you steal it? That’s no good.

I stole it. I’m small and capable. It’s mine. I’m eating it.

Wait! Don't! I don't think you should.

I will. I will. It’s mine. I see you want my brownie. You oldie are jealous.

It’s not that. I’ve heard it’s bad.

Haha… It’s bad for those who don't have it. I got it and you didn't.

Why else would they keep it away from us?

Because it’s of utmost importance to them. Because everyone wants it. Because I've seen how they react when they eat it. They even fight for it. This time it’s going to be me. And my happy belly.

I still think you shouldn’t.

You're just jealous. I have it and you don't.

Yes, yes. You have it. I don't… But I would still hesitate to eat it. Don't you know?

Don’t I know what? What should I know? What? What do you mean?

I meant to ask if you know how it tastes.

I don't but they do, and they love it. They make it every week and we never got none. So many years and none. Just none. Anything but that. I want it. It’s my turn.

Do you really think we should?

I! I!

I meant “you should”?

I’m doing it. Watch me!

Ohhh…. OK.

Daisy devoured a slab of brownie and started running around until she felt nauseous. She stopped abruptly. Her pulse increased. She looked around as if surrounded by the postmen. Her vision blurred. She started panting and lied down.

Buddie’s eyes watched her closely, they changed into a frown.

I told you. I did. - he barked. - How was it? What do you feel?

Good. I… I feel something. Coming. - she stared past him.

What is it?

The... - she wiggled her tail without enthusiasm. - It’s…

Come on!

Pleasure. - Daisy said with a faint smile and vomited under herself.

Oh no. Not good. Not good. - Buddy ran out of the room.

She laid on the black oak parquet floor, like a splutter of cream on the surface of a coffee. Eyes closed, her belly cooling down on the smooth surface. Even more black gooey substance came out of her mouth. The dark chocolate chunks poked out of the soft fudge. After a while, she reopened her bright blue eyes to see the dark bits swimming in the black reflection of the sun. After multiple attempts, she licked up a big chunk and chewed it up loudly.

Daisy's eyes closed. She started trembling. When Buddy came back he saw something he would never believe if told. It was a rich black gooey substance, so dark and velvety in the sunset rays. The pieces of chocolate were melted at the edges but still very much solid. He thought of a moment he warned her, knowing full well she won't listen. It could have been him or none of them, if only they would listen to the owner. The owner was now screaming behind him. Kicking him away from the shaking body. They will think he stole the brownie. They will suspect a big brown “oldie” did it. The trusted labradoodle, first of its kind, stood on his two to grab a large slice of a perfectly good brownie. And what for? The elegant young puddle who didn't know any better.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

The Food Guy

I read about food politics like it's a Harry Potter.

Eating my way through culture and cooking up the future.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.