Feast logo

Breakfast Bagel Battle

…from MiMi the Muncher…

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Breakfast Bagel Battle
Photo by Alessandro Alimonti on Unsplash

Hey Hey 👋!!! What it do? How’s it goin; how are you?

Me? Well MiMi just got done eating breakfast which is my favorite meal of the day, hands down!!!

I believe it started because it’s also one of the least expensive meals to eat outside of the home. 🤷🏻‍♀️

I dunno if I’m right about breakfast bein inexpensive, but when I was working and going to school full time, my job had a cafeteria. Every morning I would literally order an omelette jam packed with every vegetable imaginable, tater tots included in the mix, and eat it on a hoagie roll with hot sauce drizzled on it.

When I would bring it to my cubicle the aroma would announce to everyone that I had arrived for the day. Truth be told, I more often than not would arrive to work a half hour before I had to actually clock in just so I could eat in peace and quiet before being micromanaged to death. 🤷🏻‍♀️

Look everyone who worked at my day job knew the headsets were shackles. 🤣I lie to you, not I felt like sometimes if it were legal they would have installed shock devices in the headset to keep us in our seats.

But that’s another blog for another day, I guess. 🤷🏻‍♀️

Bottom line, breakfast was and is my peaceful time. So if you’ve ever had breakfast with me you know this.

And if you don’t know, now you know…

Back to “breffis” …and a quick S/O goes out to all my midwestern peeps Hi Kay 👋 Hi Tina👋🤣 who teased me relentlessly for mispronouncing breakfast 🍳🤷🏻‍♀️.

Look I’m from Jersey, we don’t have time to enunciate. 🤣🤣🤣. All of our words kinda blend together in one long sarcastic cuss word punctuated with a sigh 😞 or raised brow.

But that’s neither here nor there, I’m talking about breffis, not a brunch, not a lunch, but breffis.

And if you didn’t read the above statement with this inflection…

… you missed some comedy in yo life 🤓😁🤣.

All of that to say: Maryland bagels are better than Jersey bagels 🤣🤣🤣.

Look, 😬 I haven’t tried ALL of the bagels in NJ so I’m probably wrong, but for this specific blog I will officially state that the THB Bagelry & Deli in Owings Mills, MD hands down, in my opinion, has the best freakin breakfast bagel “sammich” ever made, ever.

The bagels are just super fresh, and warm and the “snap to chew” ratio is just right

Sidebar: MiMi is built like Winnie the Pooh and I no longer give a flying fajita about it because despite the fact I had a 🤯, it had nothing to do with my weight. But pudgy people who are also foodies will know what a “snap to chew” ratio is. And if you don’t, go to MD and stop at the jawn I just mentioned and get you a bagel 🥯 sammich.

But stop 🛑 hold up waaaaaaait!

Get a cheesesteak on a bagel roll.

I know I know Quest, I thought the same thing, and you’re right to ask, because I asked it too:

Is it okay to get a cheesesteak anywhere south of the Delaware Memorial Bridge? And for all intents and purposes the answer is typically no BUT if you get all the fixins like fried onions, extra cheese and hot peppers mayo, s&p ketchup , it works. BUT it’s the bagel ROLL that sets it OFF!!!

Oh cmon, you know I had to put a Set It Off gif in there, 🤣🤣🤣.

I wouldn’t be MiMi if I didn’t.

Anyhow, anywho, back to the Bagel 🥯 battle.

I was hungry & my groceries ain’t coming til after one, so I ordered from a bagel place that will remain nameless cuz I don’t want to embarrass them. It was “aiight”! 🙄 Their bagel, although tasty, was more of a croissant 🥐 consistency so that left my mouth feeling fuzzy 😳.

I know strange description, 🤣but I wound up sharing the sammich with Cheech.

Their tater tots tho…bangin!

Not for nuthin, I heard they’re bringin back the steak 🥩 🥚 and cheese 🧀 bagel from McDonalds for a spell, but I already learned how to make the mock version of that complete with the hash brown pattie.

So, I’m straight eventhough I gotta make my own breakfast fo now on 🤣🤣🤣

✌🏼 💜💨

*Brought to you by Durban Poison 🌱 and Folgers Dark Silk with a white mocha & raspberry shot, sweet Italian creamer no foam.

cuisineproduct reviewrestaurantsfact or fictionhumanity
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.