Feast logo

Apple Pie Style Cupcakes!

A Baking Story (Pt.25)

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Of course, you probably know me very well for invading Vocal with my film studies stuff and articles entitled ‘a filmmaker’s guide’. I have often explained that I love to bake as well. Since I was young, I have loved the idea, the creativity and the relaxation of baking different things. I love to make macarons, layer cakes and gingerbread in particular and the activity of it really gets me away from my laptop (where I’m sure you know that I spend most of my life). So, I hope you enjoy me talking about what I bake and why I bake it complete with pictures (if not very good) of me actually baking, my baked goods in the process of being created and when they’re finished. I’m really happy to share this with you. And if you like, you can show me your baking (yes, I spend a lot of time writing, but I also spend a lot of time reading other people’s articles!), I would love to see it. Since I was in school, I was always interested in creating things, whether that be pieces of writing, welding things to make small statues or baking foods and making sweets (candy, if you’re American). I hope you enjoy looking at some of the stuff that has honestly kept me sane, because I seem to be going slightly mad.

Cinnamon and Apple, Toffee Cupcakes!

Lovely, sticky and tasty apple-pie style cupcakes are just what we need during this Christmas season. An amazingly sweet and squidgy treat, this cupcake is incredibly easy to make and a great idea to serve your family with a cup of coffee.

Tasting of toffee, apples, cinnamon and vanilla, these flavours are tried and tested by me to be balanced perfectly so that you too can experience the fullness of the toasty apple pie-esque flavour during the Christmas season.

If you know me, you will know that I'm not a big fan of pie. Mince Pies are nice, but any other pie is just a bit of a no for me. I'm not a big fan of pastries, pasties, pies, and the one food that I just cannot eat and possibly the food I hate most is...croissants. [Shudders].

Since I don't like these pastry-styled foods, I like to bake the flavours into cupcakes, which are a nice treat with my afternoon coffee. I'm going to teach you a flavour I have tried to achieve quite a few times and perfected only this morning!

I hope you and your family enjoy this easy-to-follow recipe which only takes about one hour altogether to make and serve! [yes, it includes preparation and cooking time].

Here's the recipe then...

You Will Need

2x Pink Lady Apples [one diced and one grated]

2tbsp Ground Cinnamon

3 tbsp Brown Sugar

2 tsp Vanilla Essence

1 tbsp Toffee Hot Chocolate Powder of Your Choice

110g Caster Sugar

110g Softened Butter

2 Eggs

120g Self Raising Flour

Ooh, mine are going in the oven now...

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 200C and line a cupcake tin with cases - this recipe will make you twelve cupcakes
  2. Cream together the butter and caster sugar
  3. Beat the eggs with two tbsp of the brown sugar and add it to the bowl with the creamed butter and caster sugar and mix together
  4. Add the flour and the hot chocolate powder and mix

Tip: I used Whittard's Edition of Toffee Popcorn White Hot Chocolate and it tastes great. But also using things such as the Options brand and Cadbury's Hot Chocolate would also do.

II - The Apples

I'm going to just dice this last apple and I will be all set with both of my apples all ready...
  1. You should have one grated apple and one diced apple
  2. Add the grated one to your mixture in the bowl and mix once more
  3. Add the cinnamon to the mixture and mix once more
  4. Divide the mixture between the cupcake cases
  5. With the diced apple, sprinkle the pieces atop the cupcakes and try to get them nice and spread out across each
  6. Sprinkle the last tbsp of brown sugar atop of the diced apples
  7. Bake the cupcakes for 22 minutes and then allow to cool for 15 minutes
  8. The texture should be nice and spongey...
We did it!

Enjoy with a lovely cup of coffee on a mid-afternoon winter's day with the family or friends. They will be such an amazing treat for everyone and I'm sure your family will be impressed by your skills to manipulate cupcake texture into a pie-like dessert!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.