Feast logo

All Hail to the Golden God of Summer

Cold and delicious

By Cathy holmesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2022
42
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

When we talk about food that’s associated with summer in Canada, there are plenty of delicious options that come to mind. Cool and refreshing fruits and berries are popular choices along with tossed salads, potato salad, coleslaw, pasta salads, veggie trays, and sweet corn. Steak, burgers, chicken, fish, or pretty much anything on the barbeque are also much loved summer staples.

When you’re done with the main meal and ready for a yummy dessert, who can resist a creamy and delicious ice cream cake, or strawberry shortcake, or a chocolate/vanilla twister soft serve from the ice cream truck? If you’re looking for something a little healthier, frozen yogurt or a bowl of fresh fruit and berries are excellent alternatives.

There are so many choices of appetizers, mains, and dessert items that I couldn’t possibly pick a favourite if I tried.

So I won’t, at least not from the traditional “food” items I listed. You see, when I think of a food that I consider an absolute necessity of summertime, I think of the bubbly golden nectar in a brown bottle or can – beer.

What??? “Beer is not food,” you vehemently protest!

Well, I beg to differ. If you can throw spinach or kale in a blender with some soy milk and call that food, then I can bow to the golden god of hops and barley.

Still don’t believe me? Put some beer in the freezer to chill and forget about it for an hour. Trust me, it’s food!

It also tastes way better than kale, which I am totally convinced was discovered by some unfortunate starving soul who ran out of grass, weeds, tree bark, rocks and dog shit. But I digress.

I could go an entire winter without ever having a drop of the golden lager pass my lips. However, when the sun sits high in the sky as the temperature rises, my taste for beer reawakens with a vengeance. Whether it be time spent sitting on the dock at a cottage after a refreshing swim in the lake, or lounging poolside in the back yard, nothing quenches my thirst better on a hot summer day than a cold beer.

There are so many varieties to choose from; the most common being ale, lager, porter, stout, and blonde. My go-to is a popular brand light lager, but I do like to dabble in craft beers occasionally, especially from local breweries. The fact that I can buy them in singles is particularly helpful, as well. Who wants to purchase a six or twelve pack of beer that you may not like? Not this girl.

My preference will always be lager or blonde, but I am willing to try different ales as well. I do not recommend stout. Well, unless you actually enjoy the taste of licking out an ashtray. But hey, you do you.

Beer goes with pretty much anything. The previously mentioned steak, chicken or burgers? Yes, indeed. Does it go with meats, fish or salads? Absolutely, it does. Hot dogs toasted over an open fire? Of course! Fruit? Why not throw a slice or two in your glass. It all goes with beer, even marshmallows toasted on a stick (don’t argue).

What if you don’t drink alcohol?

They have non-alcoholic beers available, and some are actually very good.

What if you don’t particularly like the taste of beer?

What the hell is wrong with you? Just kidding, that’s more for me.

Mei Li - laughing at you for not liking beer!

So whether I’m enjoying an evening out with best friends, cheering on the home team at a ball game, relaxing around the fire at a family get together, or just appreciating a quiet moment on the deck with my favourite golden girl, nothing beats the taste of a tall cool glass of the golden god of summer.

"Now toss some wings on the barbie, Bro, and crack me open a cold one!"

Cheers

cuisine
42

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    omg, describing kale as something discovered by an "unfortunate starving soul who ran out of grass, weeds, tree bark, rocks and dog shit" had me laughing out loud.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This is very well-written and hilarious! My favorite line was “ It also tastes way better than kale, which I am totally convinced was discovered by some unfortunate starving soul who ran out of grass, weeds, tree bark, rocks and dog shit.”

  • Excellent culinary article

  • Steve Lance2 years ago

    One word. Labatt Blue. Ok, that's two, but the extra word is worth it.

  • Michele Jones2 years ago

    You can also cook with beer. A Guinness Stew or ice cream, there is beer can chicken. Don't forget the brats braised in beer. So technically you can eat it. I loved your take on this.

  • Sarah G.2 years ago

    "Well, I beg to differ. If you can throw spinach or kale in a blender with some soy milk and call that food, then I can bow to the golden god of hops and barley." :) Sounds like we have the same taste in summer beer!

  • Congratulation on your Top Story! And I loved this. Mei Li is soooo cuuuuteeee

  • Paula Shablo2 years ago

    Congratulations on your top story. You make a good point-- summertime seems to be the time for a beer. (But not for me. I'm that weirdo who does NOT like the taste. And I don't drink--it makes me sad.) My Dad liked a cold one at the end of a long hot day.

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Excellent top story! Enjoyed! I'm not a fan of stout either. 🍻 Lager all the way!

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Loved this!

  • I like your sense of humor!! Thanks for the chuckles!

  • Misty Rae2 years ago

    I'm sorry, I'm not familiar with the adorentioned beverage, I say as I read and drink a beer on my balcony. LOL. Beer in summer is a Maritime tradition! Stout sucks. I travelled to Dublin for my 40th birthday and did a tour of the Guiness factory which included free drinks. Yuck. Well done, loved this!

  • Rajkumarie Devi2 years ago

    I've never had beer, and don't plan to, but this article is great :) I'm not a fan of kale either...any other green thing, but not kale. On an aside...I love the name of your furry friend and she looks adorable ^^

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Love a cold beer on a hot day. I agree...There is nothing better!

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    YAY!! Congrats on the top story, Cathy! Well earned. I loved this! And you're completely right about kale! Bleck! You couldn't pay me to eat it. I'm not a beer person but I just might have to try one again sometime after reading this. Your sass did the humble and ancient beverage proud. <3

  • C.Z.2 years ago

    Yesss beer is the best summer food. I’m partial to a local kolsch we have here in Alaska.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    A good read. I always enjoy your writing style...vivid descriptions, upbeat (unless the subject matter requires a more serious tone), and lots of good humor! It would not be my pick of a favorite food, but hey, that's why there is a challenge in the first place. I think I know now what food I choose...will write and submit it soon. Great job.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Loved the read first thing this morning! Cheers!

  • I can't touch anything alcoholic. I was a full fledge alcoholic before age 20 when I was in the Amy. I am proud of the fact that I have been sober now for over 40 years. So I will drink either water, Kool aid, tea or soda. Thank you for this well written article

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    Yes!! I couldn't agree more.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.