Feast logo

5 Healthy Weight Loss Snacks

Weight Loss Motivation

By Chelsea SwiftPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
1

You ask - I deliver. Welcome back to the blog! Today, I am throwing down 5 BOMB snacks that I added to my routine to lose over 50 pounds.

I guess to start - no diet works unless you stick with it and that includes your Sunday funday, babes.

The Fact-Bat is back and that's our first fact.

Secondly, I know from experience how frustrating it is to go on diet after diet and STILL struggle with weight loss.

Put your calorie calculator down for a sec, like let me help you.

You've tried high fat, you've tried low carb, you've tried low calories, you've tried more exercise and you STILL feel super unbalanced; and that's because your body is absolutely unbalanced on a diet.

The key to health is to maintain balance which is really just about maintaining your blood sugar. Hash tag, you can Google it sis.

So the real goal? The real goal is to just do what works for you and your body - but balanced always works.

If you are struggling with weight loss, motivation and overall mentality - definitely check out my new podcast episodes after this, click on: Weight Loss Mentality + 10 Tips For Weight Loss = | Podcast On Spotify + Apple: Chelsea Swift Is Your Spirit Animal |Click Here

But, let's get into our snacks because snacks are life and sharing is caring. These are my real deal snacks, find more recipes on my IG: @chelsea.swift

1. Ezekiel Toast Party -A Step Above Avo

Of course I brought bread to this party - but by now you know you need to drop the bad breads.

I personally had such a hard time with the "less carbs" thing - but, it's not all carbs babes, it's not all the time either - it's just the daily carbs with literally no substance.

Much like people, you just kind of want to stay away from that no real substance thing.

The good news is: Ezekiel toast is here to save the carbohydrate craves.

Make way for the king of bread! Ezekiel toast is high in fiber + high in nutrients = will keep your blood sugar balanced + your cravings in check + your blood sugar in control.

Fav Ezekiel Toast Combos Include: Peanut butter + blueberries | avocado + cucumber + sriracha | hummus + tomato + everything but the bagel seasoning from Trader Joe's (soul good)

This snack is great before and after the gym, use it as pre or post workout fuel or add it to your breakfast for all the nutritional feels.

Pro tip: It's expensive but its worth it (personal slogan) so keep it in the freezer + toast when needed = the original and the cinnamon raisin are my personal fav's

2. Party Popcorn

Yes, everything is a party with me - popcorn shall be no different.

Mini snack story: When I first started out in weight loss, I would eat cups (and cups) of skinny pop and still feel hungry- after awhile, I realized it was a waste of calories if I was just eating almonds right after and BAM - party popcorn became a thing.

What is party popcorn? Add a low calorie popcorn to your favorite nuts (there's a joke here) it can be cashews, almonds, pistachios, etc. If you want to add dark chocolate chips or crackers as a treat, you can - just keep the sprinkles light.

Why is this Kanye level genius? Because- by mixing a lower calorie/ less nutrient dense item (low calorie popcorn) with a high nutrient/ higher calorie item (such as nuts) this will make you feel like you're eating more - while providing necessary nutrients to fill up your appetite. Aka balancing the blood sugar once again - preventing you from over-eating later.

I personally like the white cheddar skinny pop with Trader Joe's: honey sesame cashews. Pictured here:

In my opinion, it really doesn't matter if your almonds (or nuts) are seasoned if you plan on going the distance.

For me, the long run is all about continuing the habit first and then enhancing that habit as you move along your journey.

So, if you are on a diet right now and you're eating a snack that you can't stand, (for example: plain chicken and broccoli) you will never stick with it (long term) because it is not natural to punish yourself with exercise or food.

Truthfully your health is meant to be enjoyed and this includes your meals and snacks; especially if you want to make them a long term and long lasting.

For example, this cashew + popcorn mix is a healthier "movie night" option and overtime, it naturally replaced my butter popcorn, crackers, chips, dips, etc. So, the key to building a long lasting healthy swap (that you actually enjoy) is to include items that *also* satiate your appetite.

Balanced mentality below:

Balanced is truly better for long term weight loss- so many times, I would be on a diet and I'd eat plain hummus or plain almonds because it was lower in sodium and considered to be "better for you" or on the "clean" list - but if I'm being honest, doing the "plain diet" never lasted because my blood sugar was wildly off balance which always caused me to overeat in the long run.

The reality is to keep your blood sugar in check, you need to balance your nutrients (carbs, protein, fats) with real substance included in those "low to no" calorie items.

3. Protein Sorbet Fruit Cup

My latest creation. Basically, I ruined my acai berry bowl (not over it so I wont get into the flying details of my NutriBullet striking back at me for not using it) but it worked out for us, because this became my new favorite snack and now I'm sharing it with you.

First of all - fruit cups get boring, protein shakes get boring and you can only eat so many bananas before you're making that "kinda wanna cry" face (zooms in like the office)

Take any frozen berry mix (strawberry, blueberry, raspberry) + add 1 scoop of vanilla protein + a splash of almond milk = and mix! Add more almond milk as needed - but it should eventually look like a sorbet.

I know, I know, best mistake of my life - it tastes like Hawaii.

Top it with strawberries, blueberries, shredded coconut and a few banana slices. Voila!

I'm telling you, chips be gone - this is so refreshing, guilt free, full of protein, full of antioxidants and basically, your new favorite snack - but, if you don't have time to whip the frozen fruit - just put fresh fruit over yogurt or fresh fruit with a little whip cream.

Adding fruit to anything will satisfy your "sweet tooth" and you'll stick with fruit longer if you pair it with something delicious like whip cream, whipped protein or yogurt.

4. Protein Box

I do have to give Starbucks credit for this one - when I was working long hours in the car business, I would stop and get these "protein boxes" all the time. Queue original protein box from Starbucks:

Loved those - but after many moons, a job change and various sizes, I needed to get back on the protein track without breaking the bank so I started to make my own version of these protein boxes.

I personally can't eat plain veggies every day, to me that's the very definition of insanity. I need balance and substance to feel satisfied so this is a great snack if you want to eat more fruit and veggies without feeling deprived.

The best way to make these is to include all your favorite healthy hits.

Start with a protein base (egg, tuna, tofu, chicken) + add some veggies (cucumber, celery, carrots) with a healthy dip (hummus + salsa + peanut butter) + include your favorite fruit (strawberries, grapes, apple, orange) + you can also add crackers with cheese or cottage cheese with almonds for more substance and additional protein.

These are also a great weight loss snack because they help with portion control. You're able to have "a little bit" of what you actually wanted (cheese and crackers) while including the new healthy items you know you need to eat (veggies, fruit, hummus) and filling up on good sources of protein. (egg, tuna, chicken)

5. Protein Muffins + Protein Bread + Protein Bars

Protein + protein + protein = if you haven't figured it out, it's really all about upping your protein. Protein will keep you full longer, help you eat less in the long run and repair tissue. Without the formal definitions or confusing meals plans, protein builds your body, carbs provide energy and fat will sustain nutrients.

So, yes - you need all three but protein is king; that's why most diet plans center themselves around protein. Protein is always your base because protein literally builds and rebuilds your body.

A really great weight loss tip: Try to find clean sources of protein to add to your healthy life plan.

Seriously, forget the diet and just up your clean protein game by adding healthy protein sources to your snacks and meals; if you do this, you will naturally eat less and begin to feel a huge shift in your energy, mood and overall sense of well being.

Last tip involves baking because I feel like you think you can't eat "baked goods" but that's not true. Healthy baking is not only allowed, it's a MUST.

Here is an easy protein muffin recipe from my previous blog post.

This week add a protein "baked" good to your meal plan. Yes, you can bake for your meal prep.

Baking a protein bread, protein cookie, protein bar or protein muffin in the beginning of your work week or weekend is a great, convenient (did I mention delicious) way to eat healthy on the go and actually enjoy it.

Here are some additional recipes I've tried and loved: protein bread, protein cookie, protein bar - that will really up your game this week.

Alright, enjoy your snacks - and don't forget to listen to my motivational podcast every morning, at the gym or when you just need a quick "pick me up" + "pep talk" for the day! | Play Podcast Here | Inspo + Wellness + Positive Energy + Motivation | www.chelseaswiftblog.com

recipe
1

About the Creator

Chelsea Swift

Picture Regina George swapping the Burn Book for fashion, wellness, and spiritual growth – hi, that's me! My fashion sense? Vogue-worthy. Catch me crushing it in the author world, consulting, directing like a boss, or blogging up a storm.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.