Families logo

Writings on Death and Grief

my experiences

By Caitlin McCollPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Writings on Death and Grief
Photo by Yuris Alhumaydy on Unsplash

Over the past almost 6 years since my mom passed away at the age of 65 from alcoholism (and to be totally honest, my dad, brother and I were all quite surprised she made it to the age she did, considering many with that disease don’t make it that long, sadly), I’ve written quite a bit on the subject of death, grief and loss. I’ve come to realize that writing about it has been very cathartic and helpful for me in processing my feelings and my experience of it all. And has continued to be helpful since the passing of three other family members and my furbaby border collie son (all since the beginning of the pandemic).

And not only has my writing on this topic helped me with processing and dealing with this tough thing that all of us have to go through eventually, it has helped pretty much everyone who has read these articles I wrote for the mindfulness website Elephant Journal. I have received so many comments from people on the Elephant Journal platform about how much reading about my personal experiences has helped them.

Death, grief and loss is universal. But one thing I’ve realized since becoming somewhat of a grief ambassador, is that it is something that we don’t deal with very well in the West. In other cultures they have great rituals and ways of dealing with death and loss that seem to be a far healthier way of coping with and coming to the understanding about this very natural part of life. In Western society we turn a blind eye, we are uncomfortable around the subject and we don’t want to talk about it. Which, as I’ve learned, is not a good way to handle it. We really need to be far more open about it and the subject needs to become less taboo. Not talking about death when we experience it, and how we feel about it, is not good for our mental health and wellbeing. I mean, not everyone should immediately blurt out everything to everyone. You might not feel like talking right away, and that’s totally fine. That’s not what I am talking about. But when you feel ready to talk about it, often there doesn’t seem like anyone who would want to hear about what you want to say, because it makes them uncomfortable. They don’t want to be made to feel awkward because of your tears and your emotions. But then they’ll realize how it is when it’s their turn to go through it. I’ve learned not to be bothered anymore when I cry in public after I’ve lost a loved one. I’m not as embarrassed as I used to be. And I don’t apologize for it (despite being Canadian and apologizing seems to be a way of life for us). One thing I’ve realized though, is crying while wearing a mask is not very comfortable! Ah, pandemic life.

So without further ado, here are eight articles I’ve written on Elephant Journal on the subject. I hope these help you should you need it. (Note: you can only read 2 articles per day on EJ if you’re not a subscribing member).

How Grief Changes You: A Journey of Post Traumatic Growth

The Wake Up Call We All Need to Live Our Best Lives

How Losing My Mother Changed The Way I Thought About Death

I Talk To The Dead - But I’m Not A Psychic

The Five Remembrances - a Buddhist Reminder to Live Fully

This Is Our Brain on Grief

What To Say (and What Not To Say) to Someone Who Is Grieving

When The Whole Family Branch Falls: Precious Lessons on Life and Death

~~~~~~

Liked this? Then you might enjoy this one that has more articles!

grief
1

About the Creator

Caitlin McColl

I hope you enjoy my writing! Your support means a lot to me!

Find me various places here.

Read:

My Series

My Short Stories

My Novels

My Poetry One & Two

Aeternum Tom Bradbury

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.