Fiction logo

My Series on Vocal

paranormal, mystery and post apocalyptic

By Caitlin McCollPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
12
My Series on Vocal
Photo by Cederic Vandenberghe on Unsplash

I thought I’d put together a central repository where people could find all of the series I’ve shared so far on Vocal. (I’m going to be doing a separate one for all my dark flash fiction stories because there’s a lot of those (around 50!) ). I wanted to write a little bit about my other series, what I can remember of them because they were all, mostly, written a long time (about a decade or so ?) ago.

First, there’s All About Eve.

By Alexandru Zdrobău on Unsplash

I can’t remember what made me write this paranormal ghost story, only that I like paranormal stories - but I’m not a horror fan. Oh, and also that Eve, the main character in this short story, is a minor character in my first novel Under A Starlit Sky, which you can find on my website here).

I think I wrote this just because I wanted to write an origin story for Eve. To learn more about her because she was an interesting character in Under a Starlit Sky but not a big one.

Plus I wanted to get to know her from the time she was a little girl to when we meet her in my novel. So that’s why I wrote All About Eve. You can read all 5 parts here:

Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5

Second, we have The Jade Dragonfly and other Mysteries.

By Ali Hajian on Unsplash

And this one I really can’t remember why I wrote it! I’m not a big mystery reader (though I have read a few crime stories over the years). And I kind of work in the field, so maybe that’s why? And also, I thought these characters were just fun to write - the young and over-eager newbie police officer Lattley and the grumpy ‘seen it all’ old-timey Detective McCloud. This isn’t a series, per se, but 4 stories featuring the 2 characters, and the order that they’re in is the order I wrote them in, so I guess technically they’re a series?

The Jade Dragonfly The Watson Mystery Scavenger The Wishing Tree

And finally, we come to Radio Silence.

By Dimitry B on Unsplash

The post-apocalyptic and dystopian series that I started for NaNoWriMo 2015 and then...stopped when my mom died a month later. And I didn’t start it back up again until August of this year (2021) when it had been niggling me in the back of my mind to FINISH IT ALREADY! I went back to read my very old blog around the time I had started writing it, to see if I could find out what inspired me to write a story like this (because dystopian and post-apocalyptic isn’t usually my sort of thing), and it turned out I was reading a lot of a certain genre of story (which I won’t say what the theme of it was because that’ll be a big spoiler!). And I think I’d also read Cormac McCarthy’s The Road around that time, so if you get a ‘The Road’ vibe from this story, that’s probably why.

When I’d re-started this story back in August, to finish what I’d stopped about 6 years before, I had to go back and reread what I’d written so far because I couldn’t even remember what the story was about (though I did remember a scene or two). It was strange reading my own writing after so much time had passed. It was like reading a stranger’s words (which made it quite easy to edit as I read!). I also had to untangle all the separate storylines because how I’d written it was just confusing and jumbly, so it’s like it was a ball of yarn that I had to untangle and set out in one straight, more coherent, line. So I hope I’ve done that, and I hope you enjoy this story.

Radio Silence

Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5 Part 6 Part 7 Part 8 Part 9 Part 10 Part 11 Part 12 Part 13 Part 14 Part 15 Part 16

Please let me know how you liked any of these series! You can contact me on any of the social media links that are in my profile below.

~~~

Check out all about my NOVELS below!

Series
12

About the Creator

Caitlin McColl

I hope you enjoy my writing! Your support means a lot to me!

Find me various places here.

Read:

My Series

My Short Stories

My Novels

My Poetry One & Two

Aeternum Tom Bradbury

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.