Families logo

What do you really want to teach your kids?

Are our kids learning what we want them to learn? Is it possible to teach them everything in school? Or should we start thinking of other ways to teach them?

By Talara NolanPublished 2 months ago 5 min read
What do you really want to teach your kids?
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

I saw a TikTok recently about a lady that decided to take her son out of school. She has decided to start homeschooling her son. This decision is because she feels like her son is not learning what he needs to learn at school. Listening to this woman, I understand what she was saying. When we really think about the school system, and the world that we live in, we have to consider how the future will be. Are our kids growing up with all the knowledge that they really need in life? Will they be able to succeed? We have all heard many stories about how young people don't know how to do basic things. Such as not knowing how to make a doctor's appointment, or not knowing what it means when someone says DOB. We want our children to have the best chance in life to be able to succeed, and to become anything they want to be. I want my daughter to have the best chance in life, more of a chance than I have ever had. So that when she grows up, she can do anything and everything that she wants to do. Watching videos from so many people that are now homeschooling their kids, has made me consider what I really want my daughter to be learning. If she is being given the best chance in life. I think we all need to consider if there is a better way to teach our kids.

However, I still very much believe that school is important. While I think it is great for those parents that can and are homeschooling their kids, it is not something that I think that I can do. I also believe very much in the school system, in book learning. If we like it or not, there are some careers that need book learning and the normal school system. Such as being a doctor, which requires a lot of school learning. There are also a lot of positives to school. So for me at least, taking her out of school is not something that I want to do.

It did make me think about what I really want her to learn. What I think is important for her to know. So I want to make sure that I teach her everything else that she needs to know in her spare time. I admit that it is not something that I have even considered. So now I am looking at our time and how I can teach her everything that she has been missing. So I made a list.

Finances

We all know that you don't learn about money in school, basically at all. I want to make sure that she knows about money. Now that is a lot to know in reality. It includes things like knowing the value of a dollar, making a budget, sticking to a budget, investing, saving and so much more. When I think about everything that someone needs to know, it's overwhelming. The last thing I want for her is for her to become an adult, and like me, not know a lot of money. When you are learning as an adult, it prolongs your potential as you spend so much time learning. Now because she is so young, I know that I need to start with what is best for her age. I am considering putting her on an allowance. So that, she starts to learn about earning money on her own, and sticking to a budget. Start with one thing at a time.

Cleaning and Home Skills

Skills around the house isn't something that is really taught. Things like laundry, cleaning, just overall maintenance in the home. She is too young to do these things on her own yet. I'm not saying that I'm going to make her do her own laundry or something. However, she can help me now. And as she gets older, my plan is to teach her to do these things more.

Cooking

When you think about cooking, there is a lot that includes. It's not just being able to cook something, though that is a large part of it. It can also include making a grocery list, grocery shopping, as well as following a recipe. There is a lot that is included in this category. These skills bring a lot to someone's overall life. I want to make sure that she can do them. I love to cook, as well as to do grocery shopping. So my plan is to have her help me, and start with that. So that when she is a young adult on her own, she knows how to do those things on her own.

The Importance of Self-Care

Doing self-care is so important. Self-care can be about things like skincare, getting hair done or getting your nails done. I am not saying it will be important to her because she is a woman. And as we all know, women are expected to be a certain way. This is because taking care of your body is so important. For your physical, mental and emotional health overall. Sometimes just doing something for your body does a lot for her self-confidence.

Giving back and helping the community

I want to make sure that I teach her to help other people. To be kind to others, no matter what they do to her. My daughter gets picked on a lot, unfortunately. Both at school, and my family that we live with currently. I am trying to teach her to be nice to everyone, but that is easier said than done. My hope is that I can find a way to teach her that she should be nice to other people, to try to help other people any other people that needs it.

What do you want to teach your children?

So what do you want to teach your children? What are your values really? It's not something that we really hear about. Though, it is something that we need to discuss as we go about raising our children. We need to consider what is important to us, and how we can teach our children these things. I surely was never taught most of these things, they were just things that I had to figure out as I went along the way. We need to find a way to do better for our children, to teach them better. We all know that the school system is overwhelmed. Unfortunately, we are failing children when we only depend on the school system. So we need to find ways to teach children all the things that they are missing.

-T

singleparentshow todivorcedchildrenadvice

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TNWritten by Talara Nolan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.