Families logo

Somehow, Someday

TRUTH Prevails

By ROCK Published 3 months ago 4 min read
12
Somehow, Someday
Photo by Alex Ivashenko on Unsplash

Outside is black, Daddy's not here. Outside is a sweet magnolia smelling place, Daddy's not here. Outside stars burst, fall, disappear, just like Daddy. I wait. I know, even if alone on the mattress on the floor he will be back; when the pink preludes the autumn sun's rising, Daddy will be here. I don't move; I don't sleep; I don't know how to call Mamma. Just when the orange, pink and yellow mix into hues I vow to paint someday Daddy comes in and falls onto the mattress. He said- "hey little Bird". I smell something stinky, his hair is thinning and it's longer on one side than the other. It's a red brown and I wipe it away from his sunken, deep sleep eyes. I look at him, his belly rises in it's nakedness and falls; he is covered in reddish hair on his stomach and chest. I see his pants on the floor and sneak over to check the pockets; I found about three dollars and some change and put them in my suitcase which was packed for my trip back to Mamma before he ever came home. I take some pencils from the table, I smell his cologne by the old porcelain sink and I even put a dash behind my ears. He is snoring and red-faced. I can't see a clock anywhere and I begin to worry; how will I know when to get on that airplane back to Mamma? I quietly open the door from the third floor apartment and sneak downstairs to the big door that opens to the autumn skies. I see nothing but white frost on the big leaves, a squirrel or two scampering busily and look for anybody that can get me home. Sitting, cold and hungry, a woman comes out of the apartment house to warm her car. She is a teacher and must start out early. She asks me what in the world I am doing sitting outside without a coat; " where is your daddy?" she pushes on. I said something like somehow he fell asleep and I think today I am supposed to go home to my Mamma. The woman has a scowl and ushers me inside. She takes me into her apartment and gives me a big glass of orange juice; she said she'd be right back. A fat black cat jumped up on the table and purred around me; the colours of morning made a dizzying dance upon her kitchen's stucco wall. I felt okay, not like a cry-baby, but not like a "fix it alright" kinda girl either. Then the door opened and there was Daddy with my suitcase with the teacher woman pushing him in toward me. His hair that I'd fixed had covered half of his face and he had tears in his small, blue eyes. He said he loved me and the teacher was helping me get to my plane on time, he cried a lot and held me too tight. I left him there, short three dollars and some change, a couple of pencils for me to cherish hidden in my bag and said nothing. I fled, I flew, yet I would return. For no matter how much his drunken, lousy time with me was, it was all mine, at least for awhile. When I got back to Mamma I would never talk 'cause I guess something was wrong with me. I just said everything was fine. I guessed, somehow, someday truth would prevail. I never doubted that one day my Daddy would remember and say, "I'm sorry Little Bird." I truly believed with all my heart he would come to me and beg me to forgive him. Why do you think that is? I knew what goodness was; I was good. He wasn't doing good things so he had to know it was his obligation to give me some peace, right? Naw. He went on and kept finding more kids, more families, holding onto our pinkie swear, our father-daughter bond that could not be broken. He used me, to lie, to cheat, to steal, to be nothing more than his soldier. I saw those skies turning dark, deep blue, grey and black; I knew it was gonna be hard times coming for him, not once, not twice, not even three times, just more and more dark, with nobody to hear me. I would learn that my truth would not matter to him, or to any, but I would know the smell of his cologne behind my ears, the rise and fall of his chest when he came back as the sun rose, the sadness of his failure to give me, his beloved daughter all that I deserved. I don't know why anything matters, goodness, truth and love are always so contrite. I lay far away from the memories of youth, of Daddy's promises and forgotten love; I do feel the edge, the blisters from his sickness, yet, in an addictive way, I crave his praise. Somehow, someday, truth prevails. Or does it?

extended familyparentshumanitygriefdivorcedCONTENT WARNINGchildren
12

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz3 months ago

    Even though I suspected where this was going, part of me hoped I was wrong. the feelings were real the reality of finding out the truth was heartbreaking. An exceptional piece

  • Catherine Nyomenda3 months ago

    I felt sad after reading this. Rock, you managed to bring out emotions from most of your readers and this is a good thing. A good writer knows how to do this, and no doubt you are one.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Such a heartbreaking, emotional story. You really nailed the child's voice in thos one. Well done.

  • Celia in Underland3 months ago

    Very relateable sadly x A poignant, beauftiful piece. It is crazy what our obsessions make us desire 🤍

  • This was so poignant and tugged at my heartstrings! So emotional and evocative! Loved your story!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    Oh, ROCK, this is so beautifully done. Every day I read a story about some parent or parents who did drugs, committed crimes, or broke up the family over alcohol, letting their children down, but you captured it, what those kids must feel. This is so moving and well-written.

  • Tina D'Angelo3 months ago

    Written perfectly in a child's point of view. You captured the essence of a child's innocence and confusion in a grown-up's twisted world. I loved this so much.

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    What a heart-breaking stream of consciousness! Some kids go through a lot from their parents.

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Oh, that one left a sense of such deep sadness and a stain of ick. Had my heart thumping and adrenaline spiking. These stories always hit a little too close to home. Incredibly well written :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.