Families logo

Not Just an Aunt,

but a Guide

By Shirley BelkPublished about a month ago 5 min read
5
Aunt 'Cile on the left (late 1940's) Aunt Sis and her daughter, Darlene in picture, too

Today, had she lived...my Aunt 'Cile (short for Lucile) would have been 100 years old! It boggles the mind to be old enough to think of Centurian milestones in the people that had a larger-than-life influence on you since birth. But today, I pay respect to her and all she has done for me and her other nieces and nephews. Also to honor the person she was as an individual.

Aunt 'Cile was born in Alabama in 1924 on March 23rd. She had four older brothers and an older sister. My mother would "show up" in 1929. So, that made Thelma Lucile the "middle" daughter.

Thelma Lucile (the cotton-headed blonde child) Behind her, brother, Leck

From the stories that were told to me, she tended to be somewhat of a "nervous" child. I don't know what accounted for this other than the probable rowdiness of some of her brothers??? She most likely tended to be like her oldest brother, Larue, who was quieter and more studious and stuck out like a sore thumb in that bunch. I'm sure trying to find her place might have been a bit of a challenge.

My understanding was that she was a daddy's girl and he doted on her. Being left-handed presented problems in elementary school back in those days. Sometimes teachers tied the child's left arm behind their backs to force them to be right-hand dominant. My grandfather was infuriated when he found out that his daughter had met this treatment. He went to the school and changed that immediately. Aunt 'Cile loved to tell that story.

Her father and brother, Leck...the one pictured with her, were murdered by a crazy man when Aunt 'Cile was fourteen years old. Her older sister would marry and leave the home only a few months later. Her remaining brothers would go off to CC camp and then off to war (WWII.) This would leave Aunt 'Cile to "watch over" both her bereaved mother and her youngest sister. And she grieved herself. Mind you, the Great Depression and food rationing stretched everyone in America in those days.

~~~~ Against all these odds, my aunt graduated as class Valedictorian from high school. She left a courageous and victorious legacy for her family and gave us all a higher bar and drive. I could not be prouder and more grateful. ~~~~

Not only did my aunt keep her grades up, but she also wrote to her brothers (at least weekly, if not more,) while they served their country. She wrote to other soldiers and seamen that her brothers approved of, too. Letters from home were vital. I have all those letters and how they tugged at my heart, and I could hear their voices came to life once more. Aunt 'Cile loved her family so much.

After high school, she pursued a business career. She couldn't afford to go to college, but she took secretarial courses while working in a bank. It wasn't long before she became an executive secretary for a major oil pipeline company. She reached the pinnacle of her career.

"An Executive Secretary, also known as an executive assistant, typically works in an office environment supporting high-level executives or managers in the organization. Their role often involves providing high-level administrative support, which includes managing information requests, conducting research, and preparing statistical reports." interviewguy.com/executive-secretary-job-description/

As blessed as she was in her career pursuit, she was equally unlucky at love. She had many, many male admirers. She was smart and had a beautiful figure. Right after high school, she had married once, a boy from the same small town and high school. They had eloped. But then he and his family had it quickly and quietly annulled. He didn't even have the guts or respect to address her personally. He broke the news to her over the phone as she had returned home to tell her mother the exciting news about their vows.

When I heard this story the first time, I wanted to hunt him down and make him pay for hurting her. (I still despise his name.) I asked her once why she had never married again. She gave me a life lesson in her reply, "Anybody can get married...if they set their standards low enough." She never did because she knew her own worth and never met a man that was smart enough to recognize her value.

My aunt was an Eastern Star officer. I never understood the whole order or organization, but it represented a desire to be the best human that she could be. She wore the ring proudly, but never gave away the secrets.

Eastern Star symbolism

Throughout my childhood, if Aunt 'Cile could afford it, she made sure that she blessed me with her love and support. For a school program, I was to sing the song, "Lavendar Blue." She got out her sewing machine and made me the most beautiful lavender colored net "princess-dress" with a matching umbrella. Later on, as I got older and the Beatles became popular, she bought me a fashionable pair of "go-go" boots. All the girls my age had a pair, and I wanted them so badly.

Before computers and laptops became popular, there were "word processors." They were somewhere between a computer and typewriter in description. At the time, and while the latest in innovation, she made sure to train me on its use. Although, technology advanced quickly, I think it greatly helped me to build on the skills I needed to get through college and even use while teaching college nursing courses.

Aunt 'Cile is responsible for most of my political values and views, too. She was very passionate about her country. She even took me to a political rally in 1964. When the 1970's "peace symbols" came out, she was outraged. And don't even breathe the name of Jane Fonda around her.

She also pushed each of her nieces and nephews academically to be the best we could be. Her belief in us led us to believe in ourselves. She was a great role model.

As my brother and sister and I recalled memories this week on a group text, we were filled with love and warmth, security and pride for having had the richness of her guidance. But most of all, gratefulness. She gave us courage and love for our family and country, and ourselves. Thank you, Aunt 'Cile!

vintagevaluessinglehumanityextended family
5

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    That murder seems so senseless 😮 She had an amazing life, and it sounds like she was a force to be reckoned with.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    What a hard beginning for her.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Omgggg why did that guy kill her father and brother? That's so devastating! I hope he was caught and sentenced to prison if not to death! And that guy that she got married to, he's such a coward! I'm glad she didn't get married after that just for the sake of getting married. She knew her worth and I salute her for that!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    She sounds wonderful and I loved this story. I had a great aunt who was a “divorcee) in the 20’s in NYC and she traveled the world as exec for some defunct cosmetics company. I wrote to her and visited. She lived to be 99. Exec Secretaries ran the exec office and the boss! Horrible about the dad and brother, I cannot fathom the horror!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.