Families logo

My first Heartbreak

When you LOVE so deeply, you FEEL so deeply.

By The Upcast WriterPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1

It’s my fist time to share the story of my life here and I wish that you’ll enjoy reading.

I was born in a family of 5, Mom, Dad, my 2 sisters and me. I am the youngest one. Growing up, I was known to be the “Joker’ of the family. My eldest sister was the favorite and my other sister was known to be the black sheep of the family, but she was dad’s partner in crime. They love to sing together and jam.

Mom works in a Law office as an Office Manager and Dad works as a Survey Engineer for the Department of Environment and Natural Resources. Dad, was always away from home when he needs to go on a field work, the longest would be a month or two. Most of the time, I am with my mom. Family dinner was the happiest time for me, because this is the time where we get together exchange stories about our day. I grew up loved and nurtured and I had the best time of my life.

Fast forward to 2005…

FIRST HEARTBREAK

I was in my 1st year in college, life was easy, I enjoyed every bit of it. I was focused with my studies even though I did not get to choose the course that I always wanted. Contrary to this, it was also the most devastating year of my life. It was December of 2004 that dad was in and out of the hospital. All of the laboratories and test were made but doctors could never determine what was wrong with my dad. It was only around March of 2005 that we found out the dad was suffering from Liver metastasis and it was already on its late stage. The news broke my heart but as stubborn as I am, I have to show everyone that I am strong, I guess I got it from my mom. After we found out about dad’s illness, we did everything to make dad comfortable. Until July of 2005 that dad already refused to be brought to the hospital. Our house became a hospital. It was just me, my mom and my eldest sister. They took turns of taking care of my dad at home. Dad was a fighter until such time that he could no longer take it anymore. Dad left us last August 12, 2005 at around 3:35 AM.

REINCARNATION

In the morning, my cousin and I went to my other sister house to let her know in person about dad. My 2nd sister was my dad’s partner in crime, so I know she would be so devastated if she knew what happened. So, it was best that we tell her in person. Much to my surprise, my sister gave birth to a healthy baby boy at around 3:45 AM. Do you believe in reincarnation?

All of these years, I have always been thinking that dad was just out for a very long field work and I was hoping someday He would come back. There was no greater heartbreak than losing a father because when you love so deeply, you feel so deeply. Dad was my inspiration. We were never rich but dad was the richest person in the world. He was blessed to have a lot of friends who cared for him, he was rich in FAITH and he was loved by many. He was always full of positivity. He always tells us that problems are just spices in life and for us to overcome it, we have to find a solution. Even now, I still long for a father’s love. I just wish that he is still here with us and enjoy life.

parentsgrief
1

About the Creator

The Upcast Writer

Loves to write about life, family, marriage, pets, mental health and the spooky stuff.

“You can always edit a bad page. You can’t edit a blank page.”

― Jodi Picoult

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.