Families logo

How To Lose Your Wife in 2023

Keep Doing These 5 Things, Fellas and You’ll Find Out

By Jason ProvencioPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Your wife is running out of patience, so be a better partner and help her out. Photo: Pixabay.com

It’s the holiday season and you know what that means: Peace, love, joy, and holiday cheer right?

Not always.

The holidays are a notorious time of year when families can be stressed out and in disarray. Ask my therapist Bride what her busiest, most stressful time of year is. Here’s a hint: It’s not summertime.

The period between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day can be full of stress, anxiety, and a feeling of dread. Trying to pull the holidays together can stress a family out. The thought of having to host large gatherings in your home can cause anxiety and an undue amount of stress.

And guess who this usually lands on?

Wives. Mothers. People who are work-from-home or stay-at-home moms. Some dads to it too, but this blog is about the majority. The norm, not the exception. I realize that it can swing both ways.

Men, she needs your help. I’m not asking you to do this, I’m telling you. Help her out. Be the partner that she agreed to marry all of those years ago. The deal shouldn’t have changed just because time has passed.

Or don’t. Fuck around and see what happens. Mark my words, if you do these things, you’re asking for a divorce in 2023.

Think of Her as Only a Mother, Not Your Bride

When you refer to her as “Mom” more than “Sweetheart”, you’re heading down a dangerous road. Photo: Pixabay.com

I love using the term “Bride” for my wife. I’ve used this since the beginning of my relationship with my Bride. A fella I once worked with some years ago always used it when referring to his wife and I loved it. I knew that when I met Mai, I was going to steal that term

As couples start having children, they become the focus of life. Everything the couple does in their marriage, it’s either related to the kids or done for them. It’s easy to get too focused on your children and not pay nearly enough attention to your spouse.

Don’t do that. Show her you care as much as the day you were married. She’s not just the mother of your children, she’s your partner, your person, your soulmate.

Don’t Help Her Around the House

Don’t be like this guy. If you make more income than she does, that’s not a free pass to be lazy at home. Photo: Pixabay.com

If you aren’t helping her to some degree, that’s a message to her that you don’t care. If one person is a stay-at-home spouse, and the other works full time, it might not be 50–50 regarding household chores and duties. But at least be decent enough to help in a proportional way.

Just giving a little effort shows that you care. Both people deserve to be respected enough to have a helping hand. And do it without a bad attitude. Do it without having to be told. Do it out of kindness and love.

Don’t Stand Up For Her and Choose Your Extended Family’s Side During Arguments

A good man stands up to his parents or anyone else if they disrespect his wife. Photo: Pixabay.com

There are so many men who won’t stand up for their wives during family conflicts and arguments. Nothing says that she doesn’t matter enough to you than to side with your mother or extended family during arguments.

My Bride was blown away at how fiercely I defended her in a couple of instances involving my father. She said she’d never been defended before by her ex-husband and in prior relationships.

Think about that for a minute. She wasn’t worth defending, in his mind. He didn’t have the balls to stand up to his mother or father. Fortunately, I’ve never lacked in that area and have no issue calling out bullshit when I hear it. I’m glad she appreciates me always having her back.

Don’t Encourage or Support Her Interests, Goals, and Dreams

Still one of my favorite art pieces of Mai’s: Steampunk Grasshopper. It’s in my safe. HAHA!

My Bride’s ex-husband told her it was foolish to get her Master’s Degree in the counseling/social work field. He said it cost too much and she’d never make the money back. He also didn’t compliment or encourage her in her artwork.

She got her Master’s Degree. Like many people, the best way to guarantee she does something is to tell her she shouldn’t or can’t. She also took up her artwork again once she and I met because she was happy. She’s incredible at it and I’ve encouraged her every step of the way.

When she posts a picture of something new she’s made, I always comment the same thing on her post:

Oh yes. I claim every Mai Provencio original that I can.

My goal is to one day own the largest private collection of Mai Provencio original artwork. She laughs about this dream of mine, but I know she always feels happy and appreciated by me claiming her new art pieces.

Stop Trying to Make Her Laugh

When you quit trying to make each other laugh, it gets boring. Photo: Pixabay.com

Treat Her as Your Top Priority

She’s always my number one. We both feel this way. It’s fun to walk through life together.

If you’re doing some or all of these five things I’ve mentioned, you’re likely on thin ice. Assuming that your spouse is always going to stay with you just because you’re married is foolish.

Divorce lawyers make a killing. Marriage in the United States is a 50–50 crapshoot, statistically. Betting half your shit that your union will last forever isn’t a smart business deal. But most don’t marry because of business.

Fortunately, by giving your best effort and treating her as well or better than when you met will ensure that you’ll both feel happy and appreciated well into your golden years. &:^)

valuesparentsimmediate familyhumanityhow todivorcedchildrenadvice
1

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.