Families logo

You Won’t Remember Your Christmas Gifts

The Real Gifts Are the Memories With Loved Ones

By Jason ProvencioPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2
You’ll forget about gifts over the years but will remember your loved ones and memories. Image by Loc Nguyen from Pixabay

When you’ve had as many or more Christmas Eves and Christmas Days as I have, the gifts you’ve received tend to run together. I was thinking about this today while trying to remember some of the best Christmas gifts I’ve ever received.

I had an unusually difficult time trying to recall gifts that I’ve gotten for Christmas. And not even ones from childhood or my teenage years. I had a difficult time remembering things I’ve been given during the 11 years I’ve been with my Bride and our three kids. This was surprising to me.

Thinking back to childhood, the only Christmas gifts I really remember are ones that I can still picture seeing in my mother’s photo albums.

G.I. Joe was a big, big deal one Christmas. We seemed to have gotten a LOT of action figures and even a few of the bigger vehicles. I can remember my mother spending a lot of time putting them together and carefully placing the stickers that came with them on the vehicles.

The only gift I recall that stands out from our teenage years was a weight set. We both wanted one pretty badly and when we went to pick up the box, it was HEAVY. There was no doubt we received what we’d asked for that Christmas.

Having a weight set in our garage was an awesome Christmas gift. Photo by Sam Sabourin on Unsplash

During the years of young adulthood up until I met Mai, I honestly can’t remember even one specific gift I received. I just remember some of the family memories and feelings of togetherness during Christmas Eve and Day, great memories of family, food, and fun.

When Mai and I were a new couple, we were only two weeks away from Christmas. Even though I was pretty poor at the time, I made a point to get her and our 3 kids gifts. I remember exactly what I gave all of them because it was done with happiness and a bit of sadness, both.

Happiness, because we all were having a blast getting to know each other and were in the early stages of becoming a family. Sadness, because I was fairly broke and wanted to do so much more for them all.

It didn’t matter, they were young kids. They were just happy to be opening presents and I’m sure were thrilled by a Nerf Dart gun set, an all-in-one art kit, and some used Playstation 2 games from the nearby pawn shop. I was relieved that they seemed to like them.

I didn’t fully appreciate back then what I do right now. That Christmas isn’t about the gifts, the newest, most expensive things, or any of that. It’s about the people you spend time with. The memories you share during the holiday season.

We had our kids on Christmas Eve that first year. Our exes had them on Christmas Day. This left Mai and alone together on December 25th. And here’s what I remember about that:

Coffee with Bailey’s in it, first thing that morning. Dropping my mother’s wonderful homemade fudge in my coffee. Hanging out together in bed while watching Kick-Ass, Superbad, Bad Santa, and A Christmas Story. Loving on the new wonderful person in my life.

I’m looking forward to coffee and Bailey’s again this Christmas morning. Photo by Emre on Unsplash

That was all so much better than any gifts I received that Christmas.

That’s one thing I feel good about as I get older, each Christmas. Giving gifts more than receiving them. I wouldn’t care if I didn’t get even one, as long as I could give a few things my Bride, kids, and loved ones enjoyed.

Our kids have scored pretty well during a number of Christmases. Ten years ago it was the XBOX Christmas, with the system, controllers, a virtual reality attachment, and games. We did a similar thing when the Nintendo Switch was newer. The gaming systems have brought us closer together as a family, with many hours spent gaming together.

We usually do more simple things for Christmas gifts, now that they’re older. It’s a tradition to get t-shirts of our favorite bands and pop culture things for each other. We usually get Libby a new toy and some dog treats. She’s quite fond of the treats.

Speaking of treats, that’s another favorite aspect of Christmas Day. Mai usually will make a complete turkey dinner or prime rib, if it’s a year where we have all of the kids with us on Christmas Day. Otherwise, we do snacky-type stuff for the two of us. Give her a couple of mimosas and me a bit of wine and we’re all set.

For our family, it’s the memories and time spent together that matter more than the gifts. The kids get excited about giving more than receiving, just as we do. Maybe we’ve raised them right. It seems like it.

I hope you make some amazing Christmas memories with your family this holiday season. You don’t have to break the bank or max out your credit cards to have an enjoyable Christmas.

I’ll leave you with the 12 Days of Christmas photos from the Provencio Family’s Christmases gone by. Hope you enjoy these random pictures. Happy holidays to you and yours from all of us. &:^)

Mama, Mini-Me, and Avery. Typical shenanigans as usual.

Early beginnings of the band shirt Christmas tradition.

One from the early days, our 2nd Christmas together. It was XBOX season!

Holiday cheers with my favorite nephew last Christmas.

It started snowing on this Christmas Day, so Kiera ran out to catch snowflakes!

A coffee cup worthy of my sweet little daughter. She loves it and still uses it.

My brother-in-law, seconds after scooping up Libby. She has a look like, “WHAT?”

Aw, she’s so pretty. Love this woman and this selfie.

This was hilarious. My brother and nephew, and a little holiday spirit. What a face on my bro.

Oh yes, this was a Christmas gift from my Bride. I wish it looked this good now, but many meals have been made in it.

Mario Kart 8 on Switch and another controller. We’ve had a lot of fun with this, as a family.

I got this offer to see this person’s nudes one Christmas. Like, take a day off from spamming on Christmas, already. At least I wished her a Merry Christmas.

valuessiblingsparentsmarriedimmediate familyextended familychildrenadvice
2

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.