Families logo

Guerrier Comme Theresa

The mother is she who catches the knife by the blade - (Tswana Proverb)

By Abigail Jean JacquesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo of my mom (left) and I. (right)

Dear mama,

One might say that we’re two different types of people, two sides of the same coin. Like, yin-yang- but in a divine, mommy-daughter way.

I say that you were crafted and designed exactly for me, my angel within this earthly realm. The opposite of me that somehow aligns with who I am, perfectly.

Photo of my mom and I at breakfast.

Guerrier comme Theresa means “warrior like Theresa”. Though it’s said in the French language, your resilience could never be lost in translation.

Growing up, I’ve always been the type of child/teen to follow her very own yellow brick road. I’ve marched to the beat of my own drum and created electric waves of eccentricity and authenticity through speech, art and my overall way of being.

From the birthday parties at school (which left me feeling like straight up royalty by the way) ...

My mom and I at my 6th birthday party. This was around a year after we moved to the Virgin Islands from Dominica. (My birthplace)

...To my present-day, adult life art shows...

My mom and I at the Conception art show I took part in, sometime during 2019.

You’ve always supported me with your universal and unconditional love. You’ve planted seeds of warmth, support, care and reassurance for me over the years and completely aced watering my “roots” through every transition of my life.

Mama, I honor you. I thank you. I am inspired by your essence and presence, daily.

When I saw Vocal’s “Hometown Heroes” challenge pop up, I thought to myself; what if I had to write a poem expressing my appreciation, and the prize would be to win a mom like you? Crazy thought, but if I did, it would go a little like this…

Roses are red, violets are blue…

You thought this was going to be a little cliché, didn’t you?

With the soul of sweet Theresa, there’s nothing “cliché” about it.

You have a way of reminding me anything is possible, even when I doubt it.

Mommy and me!

Your hugs are more than hugs, they’re life-giving embraces,

You’ve lifted me up more than you know, even when we’re in separate places.

You’re not a fan of all things gnarly, but you’re a fan of me,

That’s why I got a gnarly tattoo of you, so the whole world could see!

Cartoon version of my mom's face on my left arm.

That being said, you could say I wear my heart on my sleeve,

A frontline worker by profession, a magical chef- with ease.

Pictured: My mom at work.

My favorite human being, my she-ro for life,

And if I may speak on behalf of daddy, a dang good wife.

What an honor it is to arrive on earth, through a beautiful vessel like you,

Thank you for teaching me my letters, and the power of manifestation too.

My mom and I.

Warrior woman.

Radical lover.

Nurturer by nature.

Libra Goddess.

Life-giver.

Earth angel.

Phenomenal friend.

Exceptional mother.

Last but not least, expert farmer. Why? Well, with the seeds you've planted, I turned out to be a pretty great tree. I stand tall and I bear sweet fruit, I am able to withstand gusts of unexpected wind and keep my roots firmly planted in the process. I trust in my ability to 'bloom' all year long and I grow every day. Of course, I give myself credit for the work I put in. But, it is the foundation on which I come from that helps me to evolve through every change. There were times where a couple branches may have fallen off, or there may have been a little bit of a drought which caused dryer leaves and distress. When the Earth didn't give me water, you'd come with a bucket full of just that.

I could go on and on but truthfully, the English language isn't enough to describe the magnitude of my love for you. I guess that's why I said it in French. You are a light to this world and 'wonder' personified, mom. To be your daughter within this life and the next, would be an honor. I love you.

With adoration, appreciation and tons of love,

your Abby. <3

My mom holding a mug that describes exactly what she is, #1 mom. <3

parents
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Jean Jacques

An architectural alchemist with a passion for all things artsy! ✨

Also, an island girl and plant mom. 🪴

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.