Families logo

Dear Walter,

An open letter to my grandfather who passed away when I was ten years old

By brooke vecchiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Walter, Dorothy and Tom

Dear Walter,

A part of me wants to begin this letter with a cliché, "Hey Grandpa, it's been a while." In some ways, it has been almost 17 years now. In others, I speak to you in my mind almost every day. You were the first grandfather that I ever lost. You were the first casket I ever viewed. When I remember you in my mind, it is not the image of you in your last days with the cancer. I do not believe that is how you would want any of us to remember you. Your death was my first lesson in how to handle loss.

I was around ten years old at the time and I remember watching the adults around me to see how they would react. It was the first time in a long time that I did not see my stepfather pick up a drink. Barbara, my grandmother and your wife fell into trying to figure out how to have a life without you. More so than losing a husband, one would have thought she lost an arm or a leg, she spent months learning how to function again in this new existence.

Barbara is still one of the strongest women I have ever met but the weight she holds from everyone on her shoulders was easier to carry when you were still here with her. I remember after you passed all the ways you showed her that you were still there. I remember the flower blooming outside in the beginning of the cold September month, the cloud over the yard perfectly in the shape of a heart.

After you passed, she spent months eating carnation breakfast shakes because she had to eat something. My perspective on this fact has changed over the years. When I was young, I remember rationalizing that you had always made the breakfast. Grandpa Walter, you really did make the best breakfast. As I get older and grow with the ones I love, I remember her grief differently.

A part of me held anger for a long time that you were taken away from her. I knew you were in pain and I was relived that you no longer were suffering. In a childhood that was not always the sitcom relief 0ne would hope for, you and Barbara were my respite. She still is. She is still taking on so much and I know that you are looking down just praying she learns to create moments just for her. That is when she shines, in the moments just for her. I know that you know exactly what I mean.

I look at my son now and as I raise a child of my own, I pray he never needs a respite. I tell him about his Great Grandpa Walter and the stories you would tell us, the smells of the foods that still make me sad sometimes, the kayaks, the adventures. I miss you. It has been almost seventeen years and I still feel like I am learning from you. I wish Everett had gotten a chance to meet you. I took him to the sight of your grave once. I go there whenever I go home.

I wish I had you a little longer in my life. I wish Barbara still had you there in hers. I wish that I would call her and hear you cooking in the background while she drank her tea. I wish I had spent more time as a child imprinting your face on my memory. I wish I had the forethought to bottle your laugh.

I wish heaven had a PO Box.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

brooke vecchi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.