Psyche logo

Wellness in 2021

for I am the star that guides him

By brooke vecchiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
to my son, I love you as big as the sky

Minutes turn into hours, hours turn into days, days turn into months and months turn into years. Years turn into lists that we are supposed to check off as we go no matter the consequence of the world that surrounds us. 2020 changed that perspective for me in so many ways. At the end of the prior year, 2019, I made a lot of promises to myself for the year 2020. I was going to focus on growing my business. I was going to have a dedicated office space. I was going to have a full time staff and I was going to find long term dedicated clients. This is the moment where I am supposed to tell you that the pandemic was the reason that none of that happened when in reality the pandemic is part of the reason I was able to keep each and every promise to myself. The distraction was driven away and I was left with the choice to either waste my time or take advantage of it. So, where do I go now? What wellness promises do I make to myself in this new year of 2021?

Well, to introduce myself to 2021 I would say, “Hello, we still have a lot of work to do.” I do not believe that one year ends and we move into a new year without any energy from the year that came before. I believe that our promises to ourselves and our wellness whether that be physical or mental wellness need to be promises that stay with me. This year I am focusing on my son’s and my own mental wellness. I am choosing to not think about the number that shows up on my smart scale every morning or the number of times I feel like eating something with more than 200 calories in it. I am choosing to focus on the wellness that teaches me to love myself. I choose to focus on teaching my soon to be seven year old to love himself too.

My son began the year 2021, six years old, in the Phoenix Children’s Hospital. He spent quite nearly the first two weeks of the new year fighting. His fight was mental. I, myself am a diagnosed Bipolar adult with Paranoid Schizophrenia. I remember waking up that night to find my son in the kitchen trying to grab a knife. I asked him what he was doing and he responded, “Mom, I need to kill the voices.” My son is Autistic and has A-typical Childhood Psychosis. At the end of the first month into this new year, he is on his third medicine option and I monitor him daily while also trying to maintain my own mental health.

So, for the year 2021, I make a promise to focus on the mental wellness of myself and my son. Not only for us, I make a promise to focus on the mental wellness of my staff. I vow to call out my friends who are ashamed of the days that depression pulls them under the dark blanket and meet them there with food and water. To allow those in my community and in my life that need moments where they do not have to be the strong one a place to come. I vow to keep my door open more, to keep tea in the kettle more, to listen more and to take the time for myself. I vow this year to let my son navigate his mental health in a way that he feels is right for him. I vow to continue my company policy that mental health days are covered days and no questions will be asked.

I promise to be better to myself and also better to the world around me.

family
1

About the Creator

brooke vecchi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.