Critique logo

To Write or Not to Write?

Critique and Encouragement Solicitation

By Lana V LynxPublished 11 months ago 1 min read

This was my very first story on Vocal. I wrote it two years ago for the Doomsday Diary challenge and even though it obviously did not place in the challenge, it remains one of my most-read stories. It was published before Vocal made comments on stories possible, so it has no comments on it as of now.

I've been told many times by friends and family it's good. I sometimes reread it myself and also think it is good, if I may say so myself. I had a plan to develop it into a dystopian novel with the elements of Russian absurdism (who needs so many matreshka dolls anyway?). I even wrote two more chapters for it and then stopped.

Mostly, because the situation around the pandemic changed, we returned to teaching in person, and life took over. I also cooled off on the topic after Putin started his genocidal war against Ukraine. But sometimes I return to the story and think, perhaps I should pick it up again.

So, this post is not so much about seeking a critique (even though I would greatly appreciate constructive criticism), but asking for encouragement. Do you think I should continue with it? Is the pandemic fatigue something that would prevent people from reading it? If you were to pick it up, which plot lines and characters would you like to see developed? Please help me, I feel lost in that dense taiga by myself.

FictionRevisionNovelFeedback Requested

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Ms. Lana - Organizations that follow me often email to ask what I meant from (1) little 'Schtick-Story' to another and I just have to go back to see what I've said. My personal Favorites are 'Polyester' & 'Fired' we all have them like a Favorite child - Nah - What are yours? I'm anxious to read them. Everything's always written through my 'Alter Ego' to my keyboard; my excuse and I'm standing by it. Ok, I'm stalling: It meant the world to me what you've said to me about "Victims Too"..But, Lana, I've heard from so many via emails from Religious to Senior Community Centers how they could relate on so many levels; that feels so good and worth me putting my laundry out there But, some were not so kind and I expected that: "Hey, Jay, nothing but a Tear-Jerker." Thank you for your kindness and understanding - My Law Partner kept asking me to; he even gave me the title: "The phone stopped ringing." I know we've discussed this with Doc Sherwood and that gave me the courage 'Chutzpah' to do it; as it was. - Your Virtual Friend - Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California

Lana V LynxWritten by Lana V Lynx

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.