Critique logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Battle In Her Mind

Give a voice to the voiceless...

By Petra RattanPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Photo by By WIFR Newsroom

You are such an idiot!!!

Tell me...

Why do you even allow it?

Pick up the DAMN phone and call for help!

Tell someone! Anyone! Write a note!

Find a way to send an S.O.S!

Quit living as though there is not even an ounce of hope!

I know! I try! But he will be better one day.

He doesn’t really mean to do any of the things he does.

Most times, I know it’s all my fault.

The laundry was all done, and the house was clean,

But the dinner? Oh, it DID have a bit too much salt.

Who wouldn’t be upset, if after a long day at work,

When all you want to do is put up your feet,

That you sit at a table, beautifully set,

But the food, you cannot even eat?

Oh? How about your day then?

Was it not a tough one too?

One child was vomiting, while another skinned his knees,

Children’s Home Work all completed,

A tower of laundry was deleted, A pet died, and was buried,

And now, while you are weary

A slight slip of the hand, adds a little too much to one pan.

That is no reason for your face,

A quite beautiful and delicate place,

To end up looking as though it has been stung by bees!

That broken collar bone, the bent finger, and bruised elbow,

The bump on your head, the hairline fracture in your leg,

Your bloodspot eyes, and severe pain as you swallow –

Are you trying to say that each and every day

When he hits and kicks you, that you are the cause?

Somehow I cannot see, not for the life of me,

Why you insist on believing what is false.

I guess, maybe, on some level, you could be right,

But if I even THINK to put up a fight

When he’s angry at night,

All the neighbors suddenly take flight.

No one answers my plight

And I am usually left quite, quite

Alone…

But then later, he comes to me,

So sweet, and apologizing profusely,

Saying that his love

Is way beyond and above

Anything I could ever dream.

Sometimes he just has to let out a bit of steam.

Then he promises to never, ever hit me again

But then…

It happens,

When my wits are not sharpened.

It starts with the shouts,

Then the pushing and shoving about.

I would lock my little ones in their rooms

Because with utter fear, I am consumed.

Will he hurt them as he so easily hurts me?

Stop it! Stop it right now I say!

This is certainly no way

To begin, nor end, any day,

Afraid to have your say,

Emotions all in a fray.

It is way too high a price to pay

Can you not see?

Please, PLEASE...

For your own sanity,

And for your children’s normalcy,

Don’t even listen to me

Just look at his, and your, history.

You may not think it fit to leave

But please, heed my plea.

He needs help! So while you are still able,

Tell somebody…

THE END

PoetryFeedback Requested

About the Creator

Petra Rattan

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Petra RattanWritten by Petra Rattan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.