Critique logo

Critique Requested: "The Kelpie"

Your notes gratefully received.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago 8 min read
11
Critique Requested: "The Kelpie"
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Begging for critique!

Overall, I like The Kelpie, but the opening of Part One feels rambling and completely all over the place. It needs toightening, and I'm floundering. Which bits would you cut? Is there anything that pulls you out of the story? Does it matter that I haven't named the town or village where she lives? Is that a flaw?

Any and all thoughts, corrections, suggested improvements, etc. gratefully received.

~o~

I was nine when I met the kelpie.

People think, if you live on the coast of Cornwall, you must spend a lot of time at the beach. You are probably thinking of an adventurous waif with the Cornish sea in her eyes. You're painting a picture of her in your head right now, I can tell. Her hair is fair to start with, and bleached further by sun and salt until it is lighter than her nut-brown tan. She's been able to swim since she could walk. She is out in all weathers, surefooted on the rocks and at home around boats.

You're thinking of Tera. Her family moved to the area from London, and Tera joined my class at school when we were both eight. She fit right in straight away. Everyone loved her.

My parents moved to Cornwall when mum was pregnant with me, and I can admit, here, in secret, that I was a little jealous that Tera sort of looked and acted like she belonged on the coast more than I did.

I'm Jen. At eight, I was small for my age, fair skinned with straight black hair and nearly black eyes. Even now, I burn if I even sit near a window on a sunny day, and I barely know one end of a boat from the other. (I think the pointy bit must be the front?) I love animals. We had a lot of pets when I was growing up, and I went pony riding as often as I could (which wasn't as often as I would like). I liked curling up in the warm indoors and reading or drawing. I used to dream of being a wildlife conservationist, which mum said meant being outside. I would tell her, when I felt brave enough, that if there had been a panther outside I would absolutely go out and pet it. (The moral here is this: don't tell your mum your dreams, because she will use them against you.)

Tera's family were the kind of people you imagine must live in Cornwall, if you just know a little bit about the place. I remember them being all reclaimed wood, boats, and expensive white teeth. Her mother (blonde, of course) lived in yoga clothes and gillets. They spent lots of time at the beach. Her brother won surf competitions and looked like he belonged on an Australian soap.

The truth is, a lot of us don't go to the beach that much, considering we live right by it. I guess, when it's always there, it's never special. It's always something we can do any time we like, and "any time" never comes. My family didn't usually go anywhere near it in the summer. It was always crawling with emmets. Emmet means ant. I liked that, because they really do sort of swarm over everywhere and leave when it rains. I can hear mum, inside my head, telling me not to be rude. That tourists bring a lot of money to the area. I see what mum was getting at, but I remember feeling like home wasn't really home at the top of the holiday season. As a child, it was hard not to feel something about that.

Mum was especially careful whenever I was in the sea that a grown up must be keeping watch, and she practically had a photographic memory for when the tide would be up. When she was nine, her best friend almost drowned, so maybe she was a bit paranoid, or maybe all mums worry too much about one thing or another. She calls it "healthy respect for the ocean", but surely if your friend drowned, that makes you terrified, not respectful, so I don't know. My swimming skill was barely average, and I have never been what you would call over-confident in the sea. Maybe my mum was just really good at hiding abject terror.

Tera was my friend for a while. For two whole weeks. She called on me every day before school so we could walk together, sat next to me at lunch, and gossiped with me about boys and make-up and who said what about who. (I didn't like boys or make-up or gossip.) It meant I got to spend less time with my actual best friends, and I felt stupid a lot of the time because I didn't know much about the kind of things she likes.

Have you noticed that, once you get that idea in your head, "I'm so stupid", it won't shift? Your tongue and brain obey that horrible thought and get slower and clumsier. I swear, I could say interesting or funny things sometimes, it just never seemed to happen when she was around. I always felt mousey and dull next to her, and I blushed even more easily than I burned.

Everything about her was a constant reminder of how different we were. She could throw something on and use a comb sparingly on her blonde waves and she looked like a stylish free spirit. If I tried that I looked like a black sheep got dragged backwards through a hedge and then got dressed in the dark. Even her name sounded exotic and exciting. To me anyway. Tera. I thought mine sounded like a lump. Still, for all our differences, and even though I felt boring and stupid around her, I was secretly thrilled that the most popular girl in our class wanted to be friends with me.

Anyway, after about two and a half weeks, and a LOT of drama, she'd dropped me and latched on to someone else. I mended my friendship with Lottie and Bam and watched her work her nasty magic on another close friendship group. Why do people like horrible people? It makes no sense. She randomly tried to be friendly again about a month later, but I wasn't fooled this time. I told mum, and she hugged me tight and told me I had her permission to use a rude word. I won't repeat it here, but you put the word "off" after it. This is the same woman who has always reminded us all to be polite the rest of the time. My mum was weird like that. Be nice, she says, but not so nice you lose your spine.

Life felt heavy that January. It was a perfect storm of boredom, disappointment, and sadness. Mum said the word was "anti-climactic" - the opposite of the build up and excitement around Christmas. But it was more than that. I was a little bit sad that Christmas was over, of course. but that was only one layer. I remember feeling like I'd missed something, like everyone else had a merry Christmas and the whole thing just sort of slipped by me. I've never been a girly girl, so apparently that makes me hard to buy presents for. I knew, even then, that I shouldn't be ungrateful, but that year's haul had been kind of dull. I know what you are thinking, but it really wasn't like that. It was like.... the start of the end of childhood or something. On top of that, return to school was looming. Plus, it was grey and wet and gloomy outside, and all the Christmas lights had been packed away.

Mum wrapped me up warm, put the dog lead in my hand and pushed me out into it. She does that sometimes. "Fresh air!" she would say, "that's what you need to blow away the cobwebs!" Or, "If you want to be a conservationist, you have to go outside!"

I tried not to mutter that a lot of it will probably be a lot of working on websites and social media (indoors, where it's warm), and sloped off in the drizzle, bundled up in a hoodie and rain coat, with a shivering Apollo.

Apollo was the ugliest, scrubbiest, oldest, naughtiest little dog you can imagine. He had fine blonde fur that stuck out in all directions, scrawny legs, bug-eyes and an underbite. He would fight anything, chase anything, and hump anything. My dad grudgingly called him "a character", which was, for him, probably a polite a way of saying "a bit of a pain in the arse". He can also get out of anywhere, no matter how carefully you lock him in. We used to call him Houdini. But we all loved him. Especially Mum. Her dad rescued him when he was an abandoned puppy, and after Grandad died, Mum sort of inherited Apollo.

That day, I took him to the beach. There would be no one there in that weather, and maybe I could let him off his lead. He'd like that. He didn't always come back straight away, but he was aging and could only run so far before he tired enough I could catch up with him.

The beach was deserted, and no wonder - the drizzle was fine, freezing and coming in sideways.

I let him loose and he ran full pelt along the sand. No more shivering. Not even trying to go anywhere in particular. Just running. Enjoying the freedom. His grinning mouth clipping open and shut on the salty spray off the receding sea.

To be a dog! They are such happy creatures. I know now my mother was a wise woman after all. She knew just the things that would shake the doldrums off me, and they were usually just the things I resisted. An early night. Colourful vegetables. Being outdoors. Catching happiness, like a virus, off a little dog who loved to be free.

I don't know how it happened exactly. One minute he was there, and the next minute he was not. He was such a little terror that I didn't even panic at first. I sighed, and quickened my pace to a jog. Surely - surely - he would be around the next bend. He would be sniffing among those rocks.

He was not around that bend. He was not nosing about at the foot of the rocks.

I scrambled up, freezing hands and sneakered feet both slipping on the wet stone. I scanned the beach from my vantage point, sure I would see him panting hard and running out of steam.

He was... nowhere.

He couldn't have gone further than I could see - he was too small. His legs were too short. He was too old. He had to be there. Somewhere. He had to.

He wasn't.

FictionSettingManuscriptFeedback Requested
11

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.4 months ago

    So, for my read through there were a few things I would think about. I felt that the main Character's introduction as, "I'm Jen" could be done differently. I really think that if you waited to have her use her name, there is a perfect section where she compares Tera's "Exotic and Exciting" name to her own name, with something like "Jen... blah, boring!" or however works best for you. I also think that at the beginning where you reference the reader is a little distracting. Like, I'm getting out of my head to get into the head of the narrator, then by referencing me, I'm almost forced out of the story and back into myself. I'm also a little confused about the Kelpie - it's referenced in the first sentence, but then is quickly and abruptly brought to Tera. I then thought there was going to be something more important to Tera at this point in the story only to be quickly whisked to the pup. I feel like there could be almost a Prologue or few introductory sentences about the Kelpie, and then bringing in the pup as it seems like the next portion will focus on wherever he disappears to, and then you can pepper in the Jen/Tera connection as it seems to be delving into Jen's self-image which could really drive the Psychology of Jen through the Story. There's a lot to play with around this though! It seems like you're building up some great and interesting characters that feel like that have depth to them and it will be interesting to see how those aspects of characters interact! It also seems like this is just the tip of the iceberg in what sounds to be some sort of mystical adventure if the kelpie is that of mythological origin! As always L.C., keep up the great work! Can't wait to see what happens next!

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    I definitely enjoy all the detail here. Your descriptions are beautiful and you do a great job getting us to visualize the kind of character Jen is. I was left at the end with the desire to turn the page and learn what happened to Apollo, all good things. There are two things here that I feel need attention: one is about Tera. Why are we learning so much about Tera and Jen’s rocky relationship when it seems to have nothing to do with what is happening with Apollo in the present? Also, your story might benefit from weaving in some of these descriptive details in the beginning in between the action of the present. As it is, it feels like it’s too long to get to what’s happening in the here and now. Hopefully that helps! I would love to read more of this, btw!

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    I will re-read and comment honestly in the morning. I like to pause and reflect.

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    What's the Kelpie? When I started reading, I thought she was going to meet a sea monster, then I remembered that's a Selkie (I think). As for the rambling, I don't have a major problem. It sets things up. The girl is at that age where she notices things and has a lot of questions, her mind will wander, but everything she is thinking is relatable. Have you read Ray Bradbury's Dandelion Wine. There is a chapter in it where the mother is worried sick that her son hadn't come home from buying ice-cream one summer evening. It is told through the voice of the other son and the tension and fear are palpable. Jen's narrative reminds me of this. Not the same but a similar delivery. I like being in the head of the character, like they know you're listening.

  • Personally, I like the entire thing. The only thing I would tighten is the "o" you have in "toightening" in your preface--but then that could just be dialect, lol, like how Eliza Dolittle would have said the word at the beginning of "My Fair Lady" (or her father at any time).

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Hey - not an expert at all, but I think this is great. I didn't even notice you hadn't named the place until I re-read your request at the top. You had Cornwall so that was enough for me. I was already thinking jagged rocks and wild seas. Jen's character is believable and likable - she's eight so I feel like the language is age appropriate, same with her observations and how she talks about her parents. The dog sounds familiar - ASBO? I think whenever you go back and read your own work, you will always find things to change, whether it's an entire para, sentence or word, but there was nothing that jumped out at me or where I thought - Jesus, just get to the bloody point. Thought the pacing was on point actually and I hope you're ready to submit the next part!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    1) To your: "opening of Part One feels rambling and completely all over the place." It might, but it is from a child's perspective and so, IT WORKS! 2) "It needs toightening, and I'm floundering. Which bits would you cut? " NONE and I see no need to toighten since I saw no floundering! 3) "Is there anything that pulls you out of the story?" OKAY, I got just a bit distracted from picturing the person we imagine living in Cornwall since birth to the abrupt intro of Tera. Maybe if you said, "You would be thinking of Tera, not of me." ??? But I am kind of old and slow, so it took me a moment, whereas others might not have. 4) "Does it matter that I haven't named the town or village where she lives? Is that a flaw?" No, not at all, but I live in U.S., and am not familiar with Cornwall, so you might also need locals to advise. 5) "Any and all thoughts, corrections, suggested improvements, etc. gratefully received." I loved this story and it kept me enthralled. I wondered at first, who the "kelpie" was...TBH, I had to look up the term. But I didn't do that until I reached the end of the story and hadn't thought about a kelpie. It was then that I saw the significance and I could draw my conclusions. By putting your opening sentence, "I was nine when I met the kelpie." and then moving on with your story was ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT. And especially how you closed your story/chapter: "He wasn't." PERFECT hope this helps you :)

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    I will be kind. This works well with your tone and setup. Finish this!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Will give this a read and give my unqualified and kind critique. If only to help out. But, I wanted to comment so you know it wasn't falling into the void. Will be back! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.