Criminal logo

Story Prompts: #2

I have this book that gives me story prompts and thought I would share my work.

By Shyan ApplePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Story Prompts: #2
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Prompt: No windows, no doors, not a single crack in the wall as far as I could tell. I had woken in this white room minutes or hours before -time seemed to have stalled- and hadn’t heard a sound. If this was a dream, it wasn’t like any dream I’d had before. No, this was very real. All at once. . .

. . . My senses came back to me. Touch, I could feel the cold hard stone beneath me. Sight, the walls were newly installed. Some grout was still drying. Smell, fresh paint still able to burn my nose. Sound, I hear cars faintly but if I concentrate I think I hear the ocean. Taste. . . blood. There was blood in my mouth. As I move my tongue around and unclench my jaw, I feel it. The battle I had taken before I was thrown in here. My jaw had to be bruised to all hell. My ribs, some are broken. My feet, arms, and hands are tired. Strained. I tried to fight back.

I barely remember being taken. Kidnapped. Beaten. But I know I was. I know I fought. I knew better. And was too stubborn to just shut up and take it.

I wonder what my captors want. Money? Revenge? What could they possibly want with the daughter of the Chief of surgery? It’s not like my dad could have killed anyone on purpose and money-wise, well it’s a great job but not the best to get anything from. What else could they possibly want? Oh, god. I hope not. . . What if they don’t know who I am? Maybe I was just a girl on the street. I need to fight harder. I have to get out of here.

Before I know it, I hear the creaking of floorboards. Boots. Heading this way it seems. Fight or flight, Kathy.

I double-take the room for anything as if it changed in the last few minutes. Nothing.

The door opens. I freeze, watching as my captor now stands in the door frame. I blink at him, scared. I watch him, study him. I try to strategize in the little time I have before he comes in kneeling to me. He speaks in a native tongue. Great. He watches me, eyes traveling down. Double great.

He goes to grab my face, I turn away taking a look at the doorway. Looks like a modern house hallway. I can only get a small glimpse as I am smacked. I barely yelp in pain, as I have no voice from my previous battle.

Now laying on the floor I watch as my opportunity starts to slip away. The man starts to get up. I urge my legs to move. As much as it hurts, I sweep his legs from underneath him, knocking him down. I quickly get up and make a limp to the door. I barely get out into the hall before I am Yanked away.

I start to scream, though nothing much comes out. A hand covers my mouth, quieting me. I am being held. Arms around mine. Keeping me in place. I start to cry. My hope, lost. Fight turns to flight. I nearly go slack in their arms. Accepting my fate.

“Shhh. It’s Ok. You're safe now” A soothing female voice says. I am let go and gently set into a seat. A woman kneels in front of me now drying my tears.

“We have to be quiet but you're safe now. This room is protected from them” she says.

I am bewildered. I don’t know whether to be happy or trust her. She gets up and walks more into the room. It’s a medical wing.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Shyan Apple

Im a young writer who loves fiction. I have too many ideas that flow in my head. Hope to share them with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.