Feast logo

Lets Be Honest: Food is Good

Tell me honestly, whats you're go-to food?

By Shyan ApplePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Lets Be Honest: Food is Good
Photo by Christopher Jolly on Unsplash

I could spew some lies about which little restaurant in a little-known town is my favorite. Say so many amazing things that could make you want to take a road trip and find this place. But I’m gonna be honest. Fast food is good!

With American culture today, fast food is nearly its own food group. I could also spew, how, though it's fast food that there are these small business gems.

McDonald's. Wendy’s. Arby’s. Taco Bell. Burger King. Chick-Fil-A.

Not everyone has the same food industries.

Like here in Ohio, we have Five Guys, Panda Express, Chipotle, and Long John Silver’s. Not very known restaurants because they aren’t everywhere like the well-known ones. The “better” businesses.

I love a chicken sandwich. My go-to chicken sandwich is McDonald's. They had this Buttermilk crispy chicken sandwich that became my new favorite meal when I found it. It's a good sandwich, but if I'm not in the area of a McDonald's, the next go-to chicken sandwich is from Chick-fil-a. Though I hate giving them money because of their beliefs I can’t deny that their sandwich is good.

Now if I’m in no mood for a chicken sandwich, my next go-to is tacos. Best tacos in America? Taco Bell. Normally I would get the Supreme soft taco and Supreme burrito combo. Other times I just want a few soft tacos.

Other times I am in the mood for other foods like Chinese/Asian. My go-to is probably not very known, Asian Chow. Some nice orange chicken and lo mein noodles. The only known place around my area is in the mall. So when I can’t go to the mall, it’s Panda Express time.

For Chines, around my area, we have a place called Golden Crown. Some nice Sweet n’ Sour chicken with vegetable rice. The spring rolls are heaven.

What I am getting at here is, we know what we like. And sometimes the only local restaurants, are the fast-food ones. And when we are honest with ourselves which would we prefer when it comes down to it? A fancy restaurant? Some hidden gem? Or fast food? Maybe even a nice home-cooked meal? Oh, don’t get me started on home-cooked meals. My future step-mom is an amazing cook.

Now to follow the prompt, my favorite local place to eat at, The Pittsburgh Inn. It's not local here in Ohio, but in Erie, PA. I used to live there. I visit all the time though due to family living there. It’s a nice small restaurant where everyone is family. My grandparents are regulars and are very well known there. Yes, it is Pittsburgh-themed. Pirates and Steeler gear all over. Not only that, they raise money for the army. They sell t-shirts and have raffles and there are donation bins at nearly every table.

There was this one time, I had to have been about ten or eleven, where my grandpa took me out on a “date”. It was just me and him. My grandma even helped me dress up for the date. We went to The Pittsburgh Inn. That’s when I tried something new. Something I always look for on any restaurant menu. If you are ever in Erie. Make a stop there. It would be worth it. The food is amazing. My favorite appetizer is the zucchini planks. It's fried zucchini with your choice of dip. And if you can donate, please do. A waitress there is a family friend and has a son who serves.

Wherever you are in the world, whatever you decide to eat, bon appetit.

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Shyan Apple

Im a young writer who loves fiction. I have too many ideas that flow in my head. Hope to share them with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.