Criminal logo

Letter from the people

Just to awaken people to make a change

By Lola WilliamsPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

This is a letter to the ones who keep letting things like this happen. I'm not trying to preach, and please don't think I am rapping. I'm just tapping into your mentals to make you aware. Because it seems like the government officials don't even care. Too many lives lost at the stake of the ones who were sworn to protect us. Instead the murder our sisters brothers like they want to eradicate us. I'm not saying they are all bad, this is for the ones who are. I don't see how you have it in you to kill a little boy who isn't even armed. A man trying to get to his car, or tavon Martin trying to get home out of the dark. So many lives lost from unpunished crimes by law.

I am not going here to snatch your purse, so you don't have to carry it close to your chest. I am a simple boy trying to live in a world where parents bury their child, instead of going to college I will be laid to rest. I am constantly judged by other races who only see me as a mess. I am not a thug because I like to wear my hair braided or in dreads. These tattoos are from being young, it does not mean I'm a biker rocking a biker vest. You won't see me around thugs, or starting fights at my school. Where I'm from academics are essential and I am a straight A student. I'm on the chest club, I'm in the ROTC, I don't play sports, or spend hours watching BET. I am someone's son, and my grandma prays for me. So why do you think it's cool to shoot first when you see me. I'm never armed, I never shot a gun. I was frozen in fear, I didn't even try to run. I had my hands held high so you can see them clear. Then boom I was shot through my chest like an arrow on a spear. I fell to the ground, eyes rolled in the back of my head. Before the ambulance even got there, I was pronounced dead. Mama can't hold me anymore, just look at the wounds where I bled. Daddy is just getting off work with his hands on his head. Grandma's prayers turned into pleas, lord please don't let this be. My little sister is so young she probably won't even remember me. My academic scholarship wont matter, they were even going to skip me up a grade. The students will soon forget me, all of their memories will fade. My family can't afford a fancy casket, you won't see gems of jade. You won't hear me sing anymore, now only music of sorrow is played.

The officer that murdered me is at home with his kids. He didn't even get a sentence, all they did was suspend. Now he's eating dinner with his wife, kids tucked in bed. I was just another kid of color not once did the thought of me graze his head. No broken heart for me, not even guilt as he watched me as I bled. He's just happy that another boy of color is dead. Soon his suspension is over, and he goes back to work. Walks in the door like nothing happened, I can even see his smirk. When the chief questions him I promise he will claim self defense. He will walk around like he's a prince. He doesn't feel remorse, and you know he will fake his sadness of course. He will live his life and I will fade away in a day. He did his civic duty, or so he says.

Months later my mom finds my shirt that she thought she put away. She spends the afternoon crying, afternoon turns into all day. My dad tosses a ball to himself because I'm not there to play. My sister stares at my picture with no words to say. My friends heart's are still heavy, and all they feel is hate. My crush wishes she would have said yes when I asked her on a date. This is a letter to the ones who keep letting things like this happen. I'm not trying to preach, and please don't think I am rapping. I'm just tapping into your mentals to make you aware. Because it seems like the government officials don't even care. Too many lives lost at the stake of the ones who were sworn to protect us. Instead the murder our sisters brothers like they want to eradicate us. I'm not saying they are all bad, this is for the ones who are.

racial profiling
Like

About the Creator

Lola Williams

The pen can be magic. It can create a story told for generations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.