Criminal logo

Dear Laci

A letter to you

By Kari RappoldPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like
Dear Laci
Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

Dear Laci,

I wanted to write to you today because I had you on my mind. It’s been 21 years since you and baby Connor left this world. I still can’t believe what happened to the both of you and the thought of it all disgust me, saddens me and leave me heartbroken.

I’m sure that if you were here today You would be a fantastic mom to may be more than just Connor. I wonder what your life would have been like and who Connor would have grew up to be.

Your family still Thinks of you all of the time. You’ve missed out on birthdays, weddings, Graduations, Christmas’s, Halloween, and so many more things. I’m still saddened that you lost your life so young and more so while you were eight months pregnant.

I still can’t wrap my mind around the facts that some people Feel like they have the right to take someone else’s life with no regards to how much that person wants to live, and how much their families would miss them if they left this world.

It also disgusts me, that your husband decided that he had that right. He had the right in his mind, to murder you and baby Connor while you were eight months pregnant. One thing you don’t know is that I know what you look like just weeks before you were killed.

I can picture you now sitting in the chair, wearing a red dress with your hand on your pregnant belly the night of a Christmas party. While your husband, Scott, was out with another woman at another party and you had no idea. Same night.

I’m sure if you were here now you would have been angry at the thought that he was cheating on you that night while you were unaware, smiling in one of the last pictures of you and Connor. And you had no Clue what was going on behind closed doors.

Another thing that baffles me is that you two were so young, full of life, and should have been happy while expecting your first child. The thought that life can end so quickly and unexpectedly, is a harsh reality.

When Scott reported you missing, your family did not hesitate to act. There ended up being a $500,000 reward for your return, your mother begging for your potential captor to let you go.

The sad thing is that Scott was lying to His mistress as well. One crazy thing that he had told her before you even went missing, was that he had recently lost his wife.

Of course, she felt bad for him but he didn’t really go into much detail. It’s hard to go into everything because the lies just add up on top of the lies.

You should know that when she started catching on to something, She went to the police and told them what she felt like was going on. If I’m not mistaken, someone asked her if a picture of Scott in the newspaper was really him.

When she discovered that he had been lying to her and questioned him about why he said he had already lost you and turns out it had been a week or so before you actually went missing, that’s when she went to the police.

I do have good news for you though, it didn’t take long for them to find your Body, washed up on shore and find him guilty.

Scotts conviction was overturned in 2020 but thankfully he was re-Sentenced in 2021 to life in prison.

I know that His sentence doesn’t bring you and Baby Connor back, but ever since I saw your case on dateline it stuck with me.

I have a little girl and a husband of my own and watch dateline often. I’m touched by everyone’s stories, but yours in particular made me sad.

I feel for your family, that they never got to watch You become the mom that you were so dreaming of being. I’m heartbroken that they’ll never get to know who Connor could have been.

What would his favorite color have been? What about his favorite toy? Would he have had quirky qualities or maybe he would have taken after you with something. But we will never know.

Even now, I’m finishing up my letter to you after consoling my two year old, After she fell off of her little push toy, and the thought that you’ll never get to experience that with Connor brings tears to my eyes.

I pray that you’re in heaven, holding Connor and singing him songs. Maybe even getting to read him books and things that you’ll never get to do here.

I know that you don’t know who I am, but I know who you are, and I hope that others want to know more about you as well. I’ll make sure to send them your way.

Love, Kari

Laci Denise Peterson May 4, 1975 — c. December 24, 2002

If you were touched by this letter to Lacey, you can find her story on dateline. It’s one of the newer episodes. Here’s a good place to start though.

https://www.rollingstone.com/culture/culture-news/laci-peterson-murder-everything-you-need-to-know-199774/amp/

I wanted to post pictures of her, but I’m not sure how copyright works with that.

tv reviewjuryinvestigationinterviewcelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Kari Rappold

I’m not perfect at what I do. I’m always learning. You can always learn. If you say you know everything there is to know, learn some more. Because the adventure to knowledge is just a step away.

Lets Connect! Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.