Criminal logo

Crimes and Punishments

Sex Offenses are Categorical and fall into the Situational Ethics school of thought

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I saw this meme on Facebook this morning. Who doesn't get emotional thinking about this subject? I imagine that there would be many people surprised at how many "Sex Offenders" even get upset thinking about a child getting hurt, molested, or raped. Some of them were charged with a sex crime and labelled a "Sex Offender" for acts that had little to nothing to do with rape or molestation. I've heard so many stories from them because I used to live in a building where many lived because they are restricted from living anywhere once they get labelled a Sex Offender.

I'm a Christian and I'm a Felon. I only have one Felony on my record, Aggravated Assault. Although I'm not a registered Sex Offender, as a Christian and someone who knows that mistakes happen, I try to pause and consider deeply how we should treat people. Life can be messy and complicated. Humans are not perfect, in fact I think they are designed to make mistakes. Most people will agree that we don't want people (children, adults, the elderly) to get hurt, especially per violence. That's normal psychology. However, not everyone is aware how many scenarios can create a so-called "villain" - an average human being who made a slight mistake and got dubbed with a horrific title that creates prejudice and fear from strangers to that person for the rest of his or her life. Fear can be wise, but there is also a time for forgiveness and understanding.

The meme above inspires many to hit the like button and say "Yeah, Damn all the Child Molestors!" We seem so heroic and righteous because we want to protect the children from rape, violence, the loss of innocence at the hands of those "monsters". Yet I can't hit the like button because I've known those "monsters', I've heard many of their stories, and I married a man even after he told me he was labelled not just a "Sex Offender" - but a "Predator". How could I have done that? What's wrong with me? Am I insane or just unbelievably stupid? Say what you will, but there is so much more to this story then just a criminal charge, or a label, or a simplistic Christian perspective.

I had wanted to write a book about the subject. I had begun gathering notes of all of the stories the various Sex Offenders were telling me. Stories about going to jail just for urinating outside. Stories about two 17-year-olds losing their virginity together. Stories about getting in trouble for walking around nude in your own house. Yes, those three examples came from "criminals" who were labeled Sex Offenders. Can I prove it? No. Should we believe it? If it's true, can you really compare the "crime" of urinating outside with the rape of a 5-year-old? Think about that. They are not even in the same ballpark.

Maybe I'll still write that book about this subject. There is so much more that needs to be said about it. I don't want anyone, not a man or a woman or a child to ever get raped. I think that is a horrible, inhumane experience and I would punish rapists. However, a meme like this one posted on Facebook is not helpful because the law is much more complicated and each situation needs to be discussed on a case-by-case basis. The Death Penalty is not a Christian-based punishment. You can't call yourself a Christian and be FOR the Death Penalty.

investigation
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.