Criminal logo

My life before BJ

Growing up

By Esther Thibodeaux Published 11 days ago 3 min read
Like

So I’m starting our story by giving you some background about ourselves before we came to meet, before the powers that be brought us into each other’s lives. So here it goes…

My name is Esther Lily Thibodeaux (I have already changed my name to my partners as we get married I this November 2024.

I’m 44 and I am from Scotland in a small city called Aberdeen in the north so to say it’s cold here is an understatement to say the least. My father was Indian and my mother Scottish however we have a serious mix going on as I have Irish and French Portuguese also. I have a full. Brother and a full sister and a little step brother whom I adore.

Growing up was pretty complex im my family. My Dad was my best friend and my mother was extremely good at tough love. They divorced when I was 3 years old when my mother had an affair. My dad was devastated he lost everything, his home,his business his children and a wife he adored.

Life wouldn’t really be the same after that. My mum kept us apart from my dad which was extremely detrimental to myself especially…my dad was my hero and the only time I would see him would be if he secretly came to my school. Unfortunately my mum told a lot of lies about him that my sister ad brother believed so I was the only one who truly bothered with him when I could.

At the age of 13 I started to rebel which to be fair wasn’t to extreme but my mum and step dad decided they no longer wanted me in the house and put me into the social care system. This led me to feel completely abandoned by my family and despite my dads pleas they would not allow me to live with him.

I unfortunately was introduced to a man I’m his late 30s,!I looked a lot older at 14 and got into bars which was where I met him…through my sister actually as she was a social worker. Anyway long story short I’m was groomed, raped and passed around hos friends at 14 I was beating black and blue and was fed copious amounts of drink and drugs. I stayed with this man until I was 19.

I remember seeing my mum in town with my face all swollen and bruised with a fractured cheekbone and broken lip and two black eyes and I begged her to take me home I wanted away and she turned ad said “you made your bed lie in it “ and walked away. I was heartbroken. I wanted my Mum to pick me up and take me home but I just had to continue. My confidence was no more my innocence taking from me and I had nowhere to go.

This traumatic event really set me on the path to being treated badly… those men destroyed my soul. I managed to run away from him eventually but was completely lost. I went into a young person’s shelter and got back into taking cocaine, ecstasy, speed and acid with no want to live,however I had my Dad back in my life.

I ended up meeting a guy who wasn’t really what I needed but I fell in pregnant about 4 months into this next toxic relationship. As soon as I found out I had a baby growing inside me I gave everything up… I ended the relationship as he wasn’t interested and kept taking drugs I gave up everything including smoking..-all I could think of was this baby had somehow saved me in a way I could ever imagine and to this day I call her my saviour.

For now I will end this little introduction on my life and continue tomorrow. Trust me between BJ and i this is some story to tell. I hope you come back to read some more.

Much love

Esther and Bj

incarceration
Like

About the Creator

Esther Thibodeaux

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.