Criminal logo

Alarm Bell.

Fictional Drama.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 5 min read

Ms Lyon’s.

Ms Lyon’s was a small petite pretty Lady, very amenable , although she expected the same from others. Could be quite controlling at times; however she managed to hide it under a facade of perfume and always came up smelling of Roses.

Absolutely loved her designer clothes and all inclusive caribbean holidays, although sometimes with the grandiose of the mansion, one wondered where the money came from.

Mr Fletcher.

It was rather an unusual morning Jack and I were supposed to be heading out into Tinkerly; a quaint little town just off Botany Bay in Dorset. To go and visit the Grandchildren .

When all of a sudden he looked pale and drained just coming off the telephone.

“Who was that I asked?”

“O’h just Frank from work he is struggling with the curriculum for year 6! “ I told him I will have to leave seeing the Grandchildren today. I mean Simon is so engrossed in his Diploma in AI Technology I doubt he would turn up.

I told him that I would go and help him , “You don’t mind do you darling?” Asked Jack

“Not at all I replied ‘, but I did as it had become a little bit of a habit. But I did not want to upset Jack , I knew how much this new Braille for the students were important to him, designed within his very own design for the Students. He was so inspirational and was an absolute joy to be around; his thirst for knowledge was like a dry sponge, waiting for that quench of thirst, but not irritatingly so.

Jack knew he had to go into work quickly, you see what people didn’t realise; although Jack was blind, he had a special kind of gift, an extra sensory; ( I called it Blind sight!) He could hear a pin drop on the carpet in another room, but he never disclosed this to anybody. He could feel and sense energy before a person spoke, that lead or could lead to a dangerous gift. He could read any algorithm for disparities or similarities and he knew how to become invincible in any program.

He realised he had left his computer unlocked and logged in last night. He just hoped Frank hadn’t stumbled upon his new program; as he hadn’t finished it. It was a program he didn’t want anyone to know about just yet.

As he began to pull into the office the taxi driver began to loose his patience.

“Sir, Sir, you are here!” he shouted!

“I have a really bad feeling what to find inside!” Offered Jack which was extraordinary for him to offer.

“Sir, you booked for here Tamworth Lodge, we are here! Money please”

Retorted the taxi driver with his hand outstretched.

“If I give you extra, will you come inside with me one moment?” Asked Jack.

“How much?” Asked the taxi driver.

“20 pounds “ replied Jack

“Done, I will follow you” said the taxi driver.

“Stephen, my name is Stephen”offered the taxi driver as they walked through the thick of the smoggy morning, the cracking of the sea shells underneath their feet as they headed towards the front door of Faculties of Science.

Jack pulled the handle without inserting the key, it opened.

Stephen asked” how did you know it was just going to open?”

“Oh lucky guess I suppose, a colleague is already here working.”Said Jack.

As they walked in , with this, there lay Frank..in a pool of blood across the computer table; a gun in his right hand pointed to his head.

Stephen in a panic began to describe everything to Jack, how staged it seemed to look if you asked him.!

“Why what makes you say this?”Asked Jack.

“I don’t know, I’m no expert but he has an ecig on the left side and an half drank whisky bottle and glass at the left ; which sways me to believe he is left handed-: yet he has shot himself in the head with his right hand. I’m phoning the police!”

With this the whole school was on lockdown.

The interview.

Good morning Mr Fletcher. Sorry to keep you waiting. My name is P.C. Atwell. I’m here just to take any information that you may have up too and leading to this incident with Mr Crabtree. Obligatory of course, just anything that you may think might shed some light on this tragedy.

“What like?” Mummers Jack in total shock!

“Well how was his mood yesterday or evening? Had he expressed any suicidal-: let’s say if it is Suicide, tendencies? To you or anyone at all?

Did you feel or notice anything different coming into Campus? Asked P.C Atwell.

“Well he telephoned me as I and Ms Lyon’s were about to head off to Town. He just said that he was struggling with year 6 curriculum, O’h the braille we have , that connects to the keyboards and speaks in any language, so I offered to assist him. Only when I arrived, Stephen explained he had shot himself in the head!” Explains Jack.

“Stephen, who is Stephen? “ Atwell asked

“O’h why the Taxi driver”I explained.

“What Taxi driver?” Said Atwell.

Listen do I need a Solicitor? Exclaimed Jack. All confused and certainly baffled by the fact that the Taxi Driver had just vanished!

I don’t know? Do you feel you need a Solicitor? Mr Fletcher.

“Well I don’t know what to make of anything right now, was the Taxi Driver not here when you arrived?” Asked Mr Fletcher.

“Nobody but the deceased and yourself, we came due to an Alarm bell. “ says Atwell.

“Alarm bell? I didn’t know that we had one in the study.” Replied poor exhausted Jack.

“Yes and a hidden CCTV, only it has been disconnected “ unfortunately really for you replied Atwell.

Just as Jack was about to say that he would like to ring his friend who is a barrister Chief Inspector Claign entered into the room with an air of confidence in that he felt he had solved this case already.

Mr Atwell I need you to accompany us to the police station, you do not need to say anything, but what you do say may be given in your defence in a court of law. You may call for a solicitor to accompany you but I feel with what you have told us we need to carry on down at the station, and it being taped. Do you understand your rights Mr Atwell?

“Yes but I don’t understand why I’m being treated as a suspect? I have answered your questions that I came to help Frank. I came by taxi!

Check with my Fiancée Ms Lyon’s “ pleaded Jack.

“We have” replied P. C Atwell and she confirms you were out all night , she presumably assumed with your colleague - as this is what you told her! “

“What! Check the phone records, O’h please let me telephone my Friend and Barrister Mr Black” Jack asked leaving the room with an air of absolute uncertainty……..

fiction

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dawn EarnshawWritten by Dawn Earnshaw

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.