Criminal logo

A Murder to be Solved

Across the Street

By Virginia StackhousePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read

Ever listen to a crime podcast, or watch a crime documentary, silently hoping that you will recognize someone, and help solve a case? I really enjoy listening to crime podcasts; not for that specific reason, but it always helps to pass the time when doing chores or mundane tasks. Depending on who I was listening to, or what I was watching, I'd even laugh at times. One day, however, there was this one particular documentary that changed my life forever.

I didn't think too much of it, at first, but upon liwatching it, something seemed familiar about this case. I couldn't quite put my finger on it. It was like I knew what was going to happen next, scene for scene. Maybe I just watch too many of these damn things. Who knows.

As I was watching, something caught my attention about the murder they were talking about. When they showed a picture of her, I knew I knew her, from somewhere, but where? To make matters worse, she was still on the run. I knew exactly who they were talking about. How did I know this, you may ask? I saw her. She knows me. She knew where I lived. I knew who she was and where she was going. She was going to kill, again. How do I know this? I had a dream about it the night before.

You might be thinking to yourself, " how is this possible?" I know, but hear me out, I'm not crazy. The way they were describing everything in the podcast matched up with my dream, or should I now say, nightmare, perfectly. I personally couldn't believe this was happening. The most freaky part of this all, is that in my dream, she looked right at me. It sent shivers up and down my spine, when I saw her carrying that garbage bag, you know, "full of garbage," yeah right.

Flashback: My dream took place on my balcony. It was late at night, and I couldn't sleep, so I got up and went outside for some fresh air, which is weird for a dream, right? I digress, I look out beyond my balcony, onto another apartment building, across the street. This apartment building had a ton of windows. You could see right in some of the apartments, if they had their lights on. One of these apartments had their lights on. What I was looking at, was absolutely horrifing.

A woman, in her living room, carrying a big black garbage bag. It looked really full. Using one arm, she was dragging it out of her living room. That's when we caught eyes. She saw me staring right at her. I tried to duck, or do anythign from being seen, but it was too late. I was frozen in my own body. Just staring at this woman carrying a garbage bag. Realizing now that the giant black bag wasn't full of garbage, I grew more terrified listening to this podcast. It was like a movie scene that I have watched before.

Quickly, I turn off the television and look out the balcony, and see the exact apartment accross the street, that was in my dream. Now it was daylight, I could fully see into the building. Unlike my dream, her apartment blinds were closed. "This was no coincedence," I thought to myself. My heart started racing faster and faster. Did she see me like I saw her? Does she know who I am? Do I call the police? What if I call, and it turns out to be nothing at all? I'll look like a complete paranoid idiot. No, I must go over and check it out. Cause, what's a crime story without some investigaton?

fiction

About the Creator

Virginia Stackhouse

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Stacey Vella2 years ago

    would love there to be a part 2!

Virginia StackhouseWritten by Virginia Stackhouse

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.