Confessions logo

Who Says

...

By Jerome HendersonPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
Who Says
Photo by Javier Miranda on Unsplash

It appears as though some may have utilized information regarding spirituality, growth, self-development, etc. as a means to put others down. Mostly, it appears as though there are attempts to correct the beliefs or actions of others on the premise that the one doing the correcting "knows better". The messages being delivered seem to be tailored to appear non-judgemental. At other times the overall essence of these messages seem to be saying "not that but this". While these messages don't appear to have any negative sentiment behind them, the intent behind it all is still there. Not one of us here is in the position to correct another individual. We cannot assume to know anyone's intent or motive (just as I may be doing now). Half of the time most individuals on this planet don't have a clue as to why they do the things that they do.

We might all just be stumbling through the dark. While some may appear to be in "better" positions to guide or assist others, this does not actually make anyone better than another. This world is filled to the brim with varying belief systems and methods for living and making decisions. Who knows what's what in this existence? Can anyone say definitively that they know exactly what's going on? Can anyone say definitively that their beliefs are true 100% of the time and apply to everyone else as well? Can anyone (including myself) truly know any better than anyone? We're all in the same boat, and we may be able to get along a lot better if we could hold off from weaponizing "everything" (including spirituality) and using it against one another. We could also potentially refrain from elevating ourselves above others while simultaneously using what we believe to make it appear as though we aren't doing so. We may still harbor judgements, but we don't have to give those judgements form, and cleverly wording judgements to appear "spiritual" is just a re-branding of the same **** that's been going on for who knows how long.

All of what's being said here may just be projecting my own insecurities or negative beliefs onto others. This may just be frustration with that which I am averse to in life. This could just be "the pot calling the kettle black". I am perfectly aware of that. I am also aware of where I am in this moment and am no better than anyone or anything. I'm pretty much stumbling through the dark myself. I have made plenty of judgements and have acted in ways that I'm not proud of. Yet, there are ways in which I would prefer not to be. I would prefer not to involve others in any detrimental ways of being that I may partake in. I may stumble continuously, and I may cause suffering, but I may also have opportunities to re-write these moments or learn something from them. Who knows what I will learn or if I will learn anything at all. However, "where there's a will, there's a way". And yes, that may just be another overused cliche, but there just may be a little "truth" there. W may all have plenty opportunity to participate in life without deliberately adding to whatever suffering exists in each moment. I would rather not point fingers, yet, this feels like something to be said. All I may really be able to do is "stay in my lane" and choose in each moment that which would genuinely add joy to my experience. And hopefully that could do the same for others as well. But what do I know?

EmbarrassmentStream of ConsciousnessHumanitywellnesshumanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.