Confessions logo

Who is Paul Stewart?

For Kayleigh Fraser's Get To Know Me #Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 6 min read
31
Look at that smile.

Hey. So, this is my entry for Kayleigh Fraser's unofficial Get To Know Me Challenge for September.

I feel like during my time publishing on Vocal I have given of myself quite a lot. Whether I am writing fiction, non-fiction, poetry, satire, horror or in the comments, there is always quite a lot of Paul Stewart in there. So people know about my accidental poet status, my love of music and film maybe, my family, my animals, my depression and anxiety and trying not to shy away from the fact that I am an incredibly flawed individual.

But, I thought I'd give it a shot and try to cover some things you may not know. If you do, then oh well!

1. I am incredibly introverted. I have spoken about this before, but I think my "publish anything" attitude might suggest that I am a confident person. The computer is a safety net I guess? I don't pretend to be anything other than me, but if we met in person, I'd be a lot quieter, until I felt at ease and used to you. Whenever I do those personality tests I always am categorised as INFP, which is often described as a mediator. I think that often sums me up.

2. I love music. Aside from writing, food, and movies, music has always been my main passion. Among the jobs I dreamed of having when I was younger was being a musician...and then couldn't really focus enough on learning an instrument beyond the basics, so that changed to being a music journalist or working in/owning a record shop.

My dad, who I often speak in very negative terms, is responsible for my huge love of music, because he was a collector of cassettes and then CDs, so I was exposed to lots of music from as young as I can remember (I was born in 1980) through to when I left home. Music of all kinds, from all decades. He is, in part, responsible for my eclectic music taste. I have yet to find a genre in which I don't like any artists or bands at all.

3. I don't read as much as I should, but I am looking to change that. Although I read a lot of Vocal pieces - under Stories You Liked, I have liked 2968 so far - I don't read as much actual books. But, I have a selection I am very painfully slowly working through and when they are done I will move onto others.

4. I'm incredibly cynical and skeptical. In general. And have had to eat my words about things. I try to be open-minded, but my default is to be like "that's a lot of crap" until I'm convinced otherwise. I should add grumpy into the mix, but I'm trying to change that...

5. I love knowledge. Whether it's trivial crap or random stuff I've picked up over the years of being a content writer. The research side of that job was one of the things I came to love about it. It was always handy if someone asked something about something and I could say "I wrote an article about that"I'm your secret weapon in a pub quiz.

6. Despite not being successful in most things, I have a strong perfectionist and competitive streak. To the point that even the silliest, daftest piece I write...I will make sure it's as perfect as possible. I get obssessive over everything I write.

7. I'm not great at accepting I'm wrong. I think this ties in with a lot of other personality traits, but basically...I like being right. It's something I'm unlearning.

8. I love flat-pack furniture. When people bitch and moan about the instructions being hard to decipher and follow, I don't get that. Seriously. I have yet to find a flat-pack furniture or other self-assembly item I have not been able to conquer. I think this taps into the fact I am not very handsy...can do basic plumbing, some DIY but am rubbish at things involving wood etc. With flat-pack furniture, I get to feel like a winner.

9. I am fiercely proud to be Italian-Scottish, but hate the whole Scotland/England rivalry thing. I would prefer Scotland to have its independence, but think the real issue is between Scotland and the British government, and England and the British government, not Scotland and England. Also, married an Englishwoman. So yeah. But aside from Norway and New Zealand, Scotland is the most beautiful country in the world.

10. I have been hit by a car. I saw Naomi mention this and then it made me think of my own experience. I was involved in a couple of car crashes when I was younger, but perhaps the craziest and lowkey scariest was when we were living in Leeds, West Yorkshire.

I often refer to it as Paul Vs the Fiesta/Corsa/hatchback and the car won. There was a little slip road that turned into a main road, I crossed the road...misjudged how quickly the car was going...and felt my world tumble upside down. It was like a cartoon or movie, I saw myself hold out to tell the car to slow down? Then bump, hit me and I went flying in the air. I think the story is quite hilarious and shocking at the same time. I stupidly forgot to take pictures of my injuries and their car, because I was in shock and a bit dazed. The people that were in the car asked if I wanted a ride home. I objected, because I was dazed and in shock.

I was crossing the road to get parrot food for our now-deceased African Grey Parrot Titus. Once we had said our apologies, I went into the pet store, that actually sat beside where the incident happened, bought the parrot food. Then walked through the small town of Crossgates in Leeds through the Arndale Centre to the taxi freephone and called sa taxi. Got the taxi to take me home and then broke down when I got in the house and Ruth saw how bad my face looked.

I had quite visibly been involved in something. Why no-one said anything to me at all is a mystery, shocks me and also makes me laugh. It's either they were scared because I looked like I was in a fight. or it's just another example of people not caring. The taxi driver didn't even comment. But, Ruth was shocked the moment I walked in.

I had to have some work done on my teeth, but that was really it. I lived and had a bit of shock and sometimes I think back to it, but I'm okay.

*

Anyway, there you go. There are 10 things you may not have known about me. A bonus is that I tried stand-up on one occasion as part of a failed attempt to do a bunch of stuff before I turned 30. I did one 5-minute open mic stint in a comedy club/pub in Glasgow called The State Bar.

FamilySecretsHumanityFriendshipBad habits
31

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶4 months ago

    I just stumbled across this... fascinating. My baby bros have separately, both been hit by cars while riding their bicycles (triathletes)... thankfully the bikes bore the brunt of it.

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Hey! Missed this. Wonderful stuff. Really open hearted. If you ever do stand up again tell me.. I would love to go. ❤

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    I love this! Thank you for sharing all of this Paul! I feel I know one of my favorite writers on vocal much better! Do you enjoy LEGO? The way you talk about flat-packs made me think of LEGO!

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    I love this challenge and learning more about you. 'Flat pack furniture' made me laugh, I've never heard it called that before. It takes me forever to put something together, I can do it, but I am slow. Your comments are always so encouraging, and laid back - a great personality, I can see you doing open mic nite with some comedy.

  • Test8 months ago

    Nice to know you a little better, Paul! Wouldn't have thought you introverted, but it is certainly clear that you are very introspective. We all want to change things about ourselves, but maybe just learning to laugh at our idiosyncrasies (and encouraging others to do so) is just as good as changing them sometimes. 💙Anneliese

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    This was so fun, Paul! Love learning more about you!! I think my favorite line is: “With flat-pack furniture, I get to feel like a winner.” I laughed so hard at that line! An introvert? Coulda fooled me! Loved this! You’re definitely a winner, even outside those diy’s!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Ha! Flat pack furniture. I guess I will start calling it that from now on. I don’t think we have a term for it here other than unassembled. I recently moved and have already put together 2 desks, a patio set with 8 chairs, a pain in the ass night stand that had the worst directions ever 😡. And a small chest. I don’t look forward to it but look at it as a challenge. Glad you survived the car. That’s pretty scary. And I also need to read more books. I’m great at starting one but terrible with finishing it unless it’s non fiction and about true life crime lol. Thank for sharing!

  • Thanks for sharing this, it's lovely to get to know you a bit better. Cynicism is OK. Nobody is going to take you for a ride! Don't change! Also, nobody likes being wrong and most people don't do squat about it, so you're already streets ahead. Your car story says a lot about people, I don't think it's that they don't care, but more that if you act like everything is fine, even if your arm is hanging off, they will go along with it. Most people don't like to be the first to the buffet or the one to point out the emperor is naked. People are just a little bit strange, but I don't mind that too much because it means we've got a license to be a bit strange, too :) xx

  • Morgana Miller8 months ago

    Aw so happy to learn more about you Paul!! I must say, your Internet personality is way more E-leaning to me, I’m shocked to hear you’re an introvert! You’re such an active and ebullient voice in the Vocalverse and your comments and thoughtful insights and uplifting pieces always make me smile. :)

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    I don’t have much time to read or respond to things on Vocal right now… But I couldn’t wait to read this! Made me so happy to see you joined this challenge. 1. That explains your story about crying. Us INFPs are such softies. 😭 4. This made me giggle for some reason. I’m probably the least cynical person I know, but I could just imagine you saying something is a lot of crap, then getting proven wrong. I guess it’s a good way to be pleasantly surprised rather than disappointed. 8. I love putting most furniture together too, by myself. I only get help for bigger projects. 10. Reading this pissed me off. I hate apathy. I’m curious how your standup went, because you make me laugh all the time.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I was surprised by some of the traits you listed! An introvert??? I never would have guessed, to be honest! I have to ask What are your top five favorite bands???

  • EYHCS8 months ago

    Wow, those are some pretty niffy get-to-know-you reveals... I think you're on to something about no one saying anything about how you look. It reminds me of our show in the States, What Would You Do? I am glad you made it home with a story to tell. Great writing and loved the introspective thought of telling the car to slow down and losing the battle, but not the war!👏🏿👏🏿👏🏿

  • Thavien Yliaster8 months ago

    Well this was a nice refresher. It's like your own mini self-interview. I always tend to like it when an author gives another challenge on the platform. We don't have to commit to anything, but the fact that it's just there for creativity's sake is nice. I don't know much about the history between Scotland and the British government, but I also keep getting Scotland and Ireland confused. It was one of the weirder cases of racism to me that I could never really understand. I don't know if the reason why is more about classism, a difference in politics, or one just viewing the other as incompetent. All I know is that it's still pervasive and less covert than most like to give it credit to. Plus, on the internet introverts are extroverts and extroverts are extroverts, but there will always be an abundance of ever-growing perverts. As that one song's title and lyrics sing, "Welcome to the Internet."

  • Frankie Martinelli8 months ago

    I'm fiercely proud to be Italian too!🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹 This is amazing!

  • I'm an ISFJ! Also, I would like to apologise to you. I'm so sorry for thinking you were born in the 60s. I grouped you with Mike and Rick. I was shocked to learn that you were born in 1980! I was born in 1990! We're just 10 years apart! I'm so sorry again for that horrible assumption I made of you. Also, that accident was so terrible! I'm so glad you're okay! 🍩🥐

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    It was so great reading more about you, Paul. I'd have to agree with you, though I haven't been to Scottland, it's one of the most beautiful countries in the world. I'd love to visit Edinburgh before I die. It's up there on my travel bucket list right next to Japan. I'm also an introvert! I think many writers must be, I found it to be a trend among me and many of my writer friends. I'm sorry to hear about your accident but I'm glad the only damage only manifested in your teeth. Cheers!

  • As always, the perfect blend of entertaining, emotive and interesting! I really enjoyed learning more about you Paul. Wholeheartedly agree with you re the Scotland/ England thing…. I honestly think the majority of us Scots feel this way… it’s nothing to do with the people, just that poisoned institution. Cynicism is an infection that particularly plagues Scotsmen.. I think it’s root is fear. And honestly? I attribute a lot of this to the absurd ritual people have of lying to their children every year, for years, before crushing them and telling them magic was a a lie. (The Santa idiocy?) Destroying a child’s trust and making them feel stupid for believing in magic is exactly what destroys the true magic… of belief, open mindedness etc…. There’s an article I need to write in November! (Cue angry defensive parent backlash 🙄) That sounds intense re the car… 😬 I’m so sorry that happened. And being an introvert? That’s code for “every time I shine my bright lights, others try to attack me, so I learned to dull my sparkle until I really trust my company” Super relatable!!!!! My uni lecturer one loaned me a book called Quiet by Susan Cain… was about the power of being introverted and was fascinating 😇🫶

  • Sara Wilson8 months ago

    Ouch at getting hit by a car!! But really great piece about you. I love these get to know me things. We always read writings by people and feel like we KNOW them through just that, but that's not really true, is it? The wanting to be right thing- that might be the Italian in you lol. I have it as well. I always say I don't care about being right- and I don't per say... But I KNOW when I'm right and just won't argue with people about it. Let them be wrong 🤣🤷 But it's definitely the Italian in me. I know it 🤣🤣 Love that you love all types of music! It's great when people can taste it all and not just stick to one type of some thing. There's SO much out there that goes undiscovered because "eww country music" or "I could never listen to rap" it all has its perks!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Sorry 2 hear about the accident! That sucks. FUN 2 learn more about you Paul!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Well, I was working on mine, but I think I'll just copy yours and change a few things. 😂 Seriously, good to get to know you a bit better, my friend.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Interesting peek into your life, sir. I will be contributing to the list soon...

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Well damn. We gel on a lot, Paul! Practically everything you listed here, in fact. Lol. (Maybe not the Scots-Italian, Scots-Brit thing, tbh.) Love this. You're making me rethink my decision to join the challenge.

  • Sara 8 months ago

    Was hoping you’d join the challenge. Was great learning more about you!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    I'm an introvert too. lol Enjoyed this

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    I so relate to this. “but if we met in person, I'd be a lot quieter, until I felt at ease and used to you.”

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.