Confessions logo

What do I have to do to get a "Top Story"?

THE "I NEVER WIN" CHALLENGE

By Adrianne KirkseyPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
1
What do I have to do to get a "Top Story"?
Photo by RetroSupply on Unsplash

So, I pondered the question in my mind after the "Tautogram" challenge wondering, "What am I doing wrong?

When I first started writing for Vocal about two years ago, I was excited and overjoyed because I thought I had found a platform where I could share my work.

I have been writing since the age of five, and once had dreams of becoming a News Anchor.

Before beginning my Senior year at a Performing Arts high school, I hung up my choir robe and traded it in to take Advanced Journalism. I was an editor for "The Scene", our school's newspaper.

I studied Journalism/Television Production in College as well, but due to circumstances beyond my control, I had to quit school.

I have entered several challenges and have beat myself up, wondering what I have to do. It's hard because we all enter the challenges in hopes that we will win.

I do like that fact, that even though you might not win a challenge, your story is still published.

But I have some concerns.......

First, I notice that only the people who are mentioned are the writers who win first and second place.

Well, what about the Runner-up's?

Do they not get any recognition?

Secondly, I've noticed that a lot of the same writers, get the "Top Story." And those writers are great, but I see a lot of wonderful stories in the "Latest Story" section story. It would be nice to see some different writers being highlighted, though the creators didn't necessarily relate to the writer.

So, if one has written over 80 stories, and has never won a challenge; has never in two years received a "top story" one might want to give up. I just know that I absolutely will not quit, because I didn't win. It fuels me more.

I will continue to enter challenges but, it would be nice to get feedback from the creators. What am I doing wrong here?

Being a Vocal+ member requires you to pay monthly to enter challenges. When I first started, that was not the case.

But, just like with this platform and my whole life as a writer I find that a lot of us are overlooked; stories pushed way to the back.

What is it that Vocal looks for in terms of picking winners and making stories a "Top Story"?

It almost seems like a silent favoritism. I often envision the creators arguing over who they think has the best story. Sometimes I wonder if someone thought one of my stories was a top story, and decided not to choose it, because they were tired of seeing my name; in hopes that I just give up.

Nevertheless, I will not quit. If I won a challenge, sure it would help me out financially. I am a grandmother of two. I would love to save some money, or just be able to take my family on a nice vacation.

At this point, however, I'm not doing this for the money anymore. I do it, because I enjoy writing. It's the one thing that I KNOW I can do whether I win a challenge, or not.

So, hold on to your hats Creators. The people whose stories didn't make the cut or at least the third or fourth page in both top and latest stories, those people, aren't going anywhere.

We will continue to enter challenges with the full hope that someone would acknowledge our words and stories.

When we see the words "Top Story" as a reader and writer, it makes the writer want to read it. However, there's a story way on page 56 that was published a day ago waiting to be read; missed, because it was not the top one.

It would be nice to see a variety of people win. That person may be of a different race, culture, or nationality. They also could have possibly not had the same upbringing as the creators...so I'm wondering if the background of the writer is playing a part in who is winning the challenges.

And If there is a runner up in a Challenge, shouldn't those people be in the spotlight as well?

Aside from grammatical errors, what stops one from getting the title of "Top Story"?

I'll Wait.- AK

Embarrassment
1

About the Creator

Adrianne Kirksey

"TURN YOUR PAIN INTO PAPER"

I am just a young grandmother with an old soul.

My goal is to create generational wealth for my family by doing something I love!

Victor's Daughter- AK

"The Writer of all Wrongs"

Please Like, Share, or Subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.