Confessions logo

The True Story of Teenage Love

The Good, Bad, and the Ugly

By Maddie MariePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The True Story of Teenage Love
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

Often times people look down on teenagers and their relationships, thinking to themselves "it's a waste of time" or "wow they're so cringey". The way I see it though, teenage love is so pure. These relationships do end in heart break sometimes but also may thrive into adulthood.

Think about it. As you get older, you start caring about more important things in life. This can include money, careers, family, social status, living space, and more. We've all probably heard about gold diggers that want to be with someone for the wrong reasons. When you fall in love at a young age it's not based on your partner's money or house. It's about pure connection. Here's a short story about my experience with the reality of teenage love, including the good and the bad.

When I was 13 years old, I met this very charming boy through social media. We were young and awkward which helped us become best friends. After snapping each other for about 4 months, we finally met and hungout. It was weird seeing each other for the first time. This night ignited a flame that would eventually become a huge fire.

A month after our first time meeting, we started hanging out more. Then boom, we finally dated. This was when we first fell in love. I had never been in love before but I knew it was real love. He gave me butterflies and always made me feel safe. Our personality's were perfect for each other. We had dated for about 3 months before breaking up. There were some family issues involved and it was best we took time for ourselves.

I tried moving on by blocking him, but it never worked. Since we had been best friends before, we needed each other. We both had rough patches and not being able to be there for each other was awful. Both of us had felt so heartbroken and I told myself I would never try to open to love until I was older. Family problems were also a huge issue for both of us as well. So times were definitely tough.

On Fourth of July, he asked me to be his girlfriend again. It was such a perfect night. The fireworks were shooting off into the sky above us. When he kissed me, it felt magical. All of the butterflies came rushing back to my stomach like I used to feel. If I could, I would constantly relive that night, even to this day.

Time to stop using the silly past tense. I am still with this amazing boy and I have never been so in love. During our special date nights, I always start thinking about our pure love. Not once have we thought about each other's status or the other person's bank account. We have realized we'll always have each other and can work on problems as they pop up going into adulthood.

I am so thankful to have fallen in love with my soulmate at such a young age because it feels so perfect. Everything's raw and we just focus on the present together. Yes, we did break up for a while. Yes, I felt heartbroken. Yes, our relationship has gone through hell and back as we get older. The pure love is worth it.

So the next time you see a "cringey" teenage couple, just take a moment to embrace the love. Don't be scared to fall. There will be lots of highs and lots of lows. But is it worth it to you? You only get one life...so why not take chances by falling in love?

Dating
1

About the Creator

Maddie Marie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.