Confessions logo

The President's Right Hand

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished about a month ago 3 min read

It was many years ago since the funeral of Pete who was my right hand man. The funeral was heartbreaking and devastating because my men knew Pete. They knew what he stood for and they knew what he was about. We all agreed that Pete saved all of us that night. And Pete made us cry all over again at his funeral. Pete was cremated but he was given the honor of a dignified soldier. The men told their memories of him and they were glad to have known him. And the President was there and said a few words because the mission was that important. And the President awarded all of us Purple Heart. And they gave the Purple Heart and the flag to Pete's sister who made a speech about how Pete loving serving in the military and how he felt it was his calling and duty. And how Pete came from a military family and how Pete was loyal and a Patriot. Months later after the funeral, Camelle had a boy whom I named Pete. And we were excited about our new life. And we were filled with ambitions and hope. And I vowed to never fight again, to never enter the forces. I told my wife Camelle that I will never take the uniform on again. And Camelle got pregnant again this time to a girl that she named Husha. And I was enjoying my job as a military counselor because I told Pete that I would give back and help the troops. I was good at counseling and I was able to walk many people through their issues and recoveries. I was good at helping people. And I did not want to do anything else. My life was great and I was stable. I was conformed. I was different. And then the call, my commander commended me and told me that I am one of the best. He told me that I am one of the most loyal. He told me that I was fit and honorable. And I interrupted my commander saying I can't go back. I can't be a soldier anymore. I can't do it anymore. I promise my wife and children that I will be loyal to family first and only. And the commander said you thought I was sending you out again no. Harack my man buddy you are being appointed as an advisor to the President. And I almost drop the phone and I told the commander to let me talk to my family about it. And I was nervous about telling my family. How could I tell my wife? How could I tell my children? So I took my wife and children out to dinner and discussed it over dinner. And Camelle knew I was up to something but she went along with the kids. I finally said what I was thinking about the new prestigious job. And Camelle said Honey you could be president. You could run this country. I believe in you. And maybe you should take the job. We can buy a new house instead of the apartment and prepare for college for the kids. And I got up and kiss my wife and kiss my children while hugging them. And so in the morning I called the commander and took the job. It was nothing like what I thought. All this communication and the Director who work with the President was my boss. She was kind and stern. She gave me my first test. And I had to come up with strategies after strategies and not like the military. But I did then I felt burnout and I called my wife Camelle and she reminded me of Pete. She said Do what Pete did. I got a picture of him and of us. Just look to that and think of what he did for you for all those years you were in the military. And after that conversation, I came up with a ton of ideas. And the Director looked it over being busy with the President and she called me back in a hour and said Harack congratulations you are the President's Right Hand.

Stream of Consciousness

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MPWritten by Matthew Primous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.