Confessions logo

The Right Hand Man

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished about a month ago 3 min read
The Right Hand Man
Photo by maxx ❄ on Unsplash

It all started back in the army. I was just a young sergeant learning the new ropes and the new protocol. I was naive and inexperience. And everything taught in class did not actually add up in the real world. I was young and ready for action. I was trained, well trained and taught everything I believe matter. The testing was rigorous. And sometimes I thought about backing down. Sometimes I wanted to quit but my family was and is a military family. A family that does not back out of conflict. A family that stands with its troops. A family that will never quit or cower. That was my family Harack and I made many friends along the way. I had many friends who would calm my nerves and keep me stable. And many of them were in my troops. Pete was the most loyal. Every time I had an issue, he knew what to do. Every time I was stress he knew what to do. He was my best friend. He would remind me of where I came from. He would encourage me. The life of a commander is hard. The life of any officer is difficult especially when you worry about your men day and night because losing one of them could end your career, could end your hopes and dreams could end your future. I thought hard and long about every mission. I did not take it for granted. Pete would come in and check in on me when I was planning how to accomplish the mission. And Pete would offer insight into what I should do. Pete also introduced me to the love of my life, a Captain. I love women in a uniform. Her family was immigrants but Camelle was the perfect woman. She was a darling and a dream. She was a fantasy and sight. She blew my mind out the first time I saw her. And Pete was the wing man to get me her number. Pete told her how brave I was. Pete told her how smart I was. Pete told her how strong I was. Pete was my right hand man. And so when I was promoted, I did not forget my friends. I did not forget my brothers. They were family. Even though I was planning to build a family with Camelle, I still was loyal all the way and totally. And so when my men and I was sought on this dangerous mission, I propose and married Camelle. And spent several months with her and she was pregnant. And she told me and I only told Pete. Pete was happy and we did our special handshake and hug. I promised to tell my men after the battle. It was the toughest battle of my life. Every minute was nerve-wracking. I told my men to keep the gun by them at all times both day and night. We were in the heat of battle. And we did not lose anyone that easy or yet. And my commander ordered me to move from the position to gain ground. I tried to tell him it is dangerous and hard and difficult but he reminded me that he was the commander and I was just an officer. So I had to choose who should go, I told my men that the fight is hard and difficult but whoever go will be given valiant and honor. I said for the glory of the union the glory of the military united we stand but divided we fall. And Pete was the first to go with me and numerous of other men went and we kept most of them at the base. And so we went it was hard going through machine gun fire but we formed a shield and made it in the first position then the second but the third, a man was left behind and I went to get him and Pete covered me. The man was shot severely and I pulled him back and asked Pete and the other men to cover. But it was not enough, the enemy started throwing grenades and one came near me. And Pete reacted and screamed and saw it and threw his bag over it and push me out the way. And that was it Pete died. And a few others were severely wounded. I will never forget the look on the other soldiers and on his family. And the look on Camelle's face, my right hand man was gone and I never looked at war the same again.

Friendship

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MPWritten by Matthew Primous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.