Confessions logo

The Heartache

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished about a month ago 3 min read

Doctor never stop trying to fix others. She would work hard and make sure that everyone was cared for. She would check in on others. She was a kind woman. She was a good woman. And I remember her, she loved the Lord and she loved people. She was a strong woman and of good character. She reflected herself among the foundation that she started with her husband. She was a bold woman. I remember her hugs and good conversation. Doctor was rich. She had orchards and land and homes. But she was humble, she knew where she came from and where she was going. Doctor did not begrudge working hard and fighting for good causes. And she was strong, she was brave, and she was a overall good person. Doctor never hated working hard. And she had worked hard to build a family with her husband. She came from humble beginnings. She never intended any harm. And she never tried to offend anyone. She was just a good person. Then it happened that her husband suddenly died on a trip to Africa trying to save the orphanage. She was devastated but she held on. And all the people he helped came to support her. People from around the world and she could not help herself but to cry over her beloved husband. She never questioned God why but she knew her mission was to still heal. She knew she had to hold on for her family and the foundation. Doctor requested that 'My Help Cometh for the Lord' be played at her husband's funeral. She cried but with strength and dignity. She was not afraid to let her feelings show. She was not afraid to be surrounded but she knew she was loved and she knew her family was loved and she knew her husband was loved. She heard the stories of her husband's friends. She heard the tributes pouring in and she started to smile again. And she was warm and happy. She knew that her husband lived a well life. And I gave her my assistance. i came back to the foundation. I started going to the foundation when I was sick in the hospital because her husband was wide acclaimed. He was a good doctor too and he encouraged me to fight for life. I remember her husband as if he was still living. That man could do good works and he did not stop even when falling. And he had an infectious character that filled the foundation. I was inspired to work for the foundation and his wife Doctor invited me to become a full time worker. I took the charge as if it was life important. Now that her husband passed, I treated Doctor as if she was my own mother or a mother like figure. Sometimes we would celebrate by singing and dancing and partying when the foundation made numerous of successes. I remember working hard in college and at the foundation. The work was prestigious and the work was good. The work was character building and the work was structural. I did not mind serving because the foundation kept me going. And the leaders were inspired by the founders. Then the unthinkable happened, I just saw Doctor and I heard she passed. And something in me died, I cried over and over again. All I could think of is the songs that we sang together when celebrating. I cried all the way through getting ready one day. And I was just down and hurt. I could not stop. But I remember the good as there was bitter fighting over the foundation and its future. I just kept praying and praying. And then I let go and let God. Every now and then I could hear those songs and shed tears. When people that special entered your life, you just don't forget. You remember. You loved. You think and you do. You are forever changed. You are never the same. You are better for that. And they become the midwife for your new life. The midwife for your future. That's what Pastor Osteen or TD Jakes or Joyce Meyers said before. And that's what the Doctor and her husband were to me..

Friendship

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MPWritten by Matthew Primous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.