Confessions logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Impossible Dance

We All Have To Try

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 days ago Updated 2 days ago 3 min read
Image by Brigitte Werner from Pixabay

Introduction

These are just some thoughts on life and everything that we have to deal with. It is going to be very random. Some things may apply to our work on Vocal, and some to just everyday life.

This is my 2,300th Vocal story but is nothing special, though it is just a stopping-off point on my storytelling journey.

I keep thinking that I have finally run out of things to talk about, but as many people tell me, I could talk about nothing forever.

For this story I have included "Let's Go" by The Cars, so come on, let's go.

So Moving On ....

Today we have been hit by high winds in Fenham, this is after a few very summery days with high temperatures.

Every day we leave to realms of Morpheus to face whatever the day throws our way.

Some people tell us what we want to do is impossible, and when that happens to me I just do all I can to prove them wrong. I don't always succeed, but trying is the real success, and if you hit the target that is a big cherry on top.

Getting out of bed, getting showered and then starting on whatever your tasks for the day, is a success.

For some people, things are harder than for others. Sometimes giving up seems easier than doing what you feel you should, but that ultimately can make you feel like a failure, if there is no good reason for giving up.

Admittedly sometimes you have to give up and redirect yourself, but that is fine if you have considered the options. This happens to me a lot, but I don't see it as failing, I see it as finding the right way to deal with the situation.

I am lucky in that I can see the positives in most situations for myself. If something bad happens I learn a lesson and that helps me deal with similar situations if they should reoccur in the future.

Like many people, I find it difficult to accept compliments, but thanks to compliments and support from friends and audience members I now have absolute belief in my abilities. I think that sounds a little big-headed and someone once told me that self-praise is no recommendation, but believing in yourself is allowed if others back that up.

I have been informed of life-threatening situations, and each time the consultant expressed sorrow, but I thanked them and told them they had given me a chance to adjust my life and deal with what had hit me.

The fact that I am still here means that their care and information have worked for me.

It may sound selfish, but I always put myself first, and that means I keep myself in good condition to be there for others. The by-product of this is that I am in reasonably good physical shape so I am not limited in anything I want to do.

Conclusion

Although life at times seems an impossible dance, if we take stock, and don't rush into things, or overthink things, the way through eventually shows itself to us.

Also cultivate friendship, help others when you can and they will reciprocate if they can.

Sometimes it is just words of encouragement, sometimes it is giving advice or imparting knowledge. The Impossible Dance is made easier to take part in when others are there for you and you are there for others.

In some ways Vocal is a microcosm of life, we have failures and successes and I have lots of failures, even though I regard myself as successful.

Thank you so much for reading.

I hope that you have found something worthwhile here.

EmbarrassmentSecretsHumanityFriendshipBad habits

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 days ago

    Yes you should always put yourself first. I'm happy you're doing that. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Michelle Liew2 days ago

    I like your take on putting yourself first. It's similar to what airlines always advise - strap on your life jacket before helping your children with theirs. Sometimes you have to be first for others who need you.

  • Babs Iverson2 days ago

    Uplifting advice!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Ameer Bibi2 days ago

    Much appreciated I mean it's a worth reading Truly motivational, especially we should care and help others whatever we can

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.