Confessions logo

The Craft of Writing

The flow of words

By Lahori LadyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2022
The Craft of Writing
Photo by Milad Fakurian on Unsplash

Every day I am to write 500 words to improve this craft called writing.

The power is out, and the room is beginning to heat up.

I live in a country that belongs to the developing world. That means aspects such as infrastructure, education, security, health, and many more things are not completely up to world standards.

Over populous, with a majority of the population uneducated, extremely superstitious and volatile. The merest fall of a leaf can stir them into violent rebellion, causing catastrophic damage.

I am finding it difficult to focus. In order to improve focus time, one should meditate and take time away from the menace of smartphones.

I am strongly considering doing away with my smart phone and getting a traditional cell phone which is just used for contacting others.

I hate this menace that we carry around in our hands, sucking the life and energy from our minds.

It’s loathsome how grossly addicting is it, just to watch nothingness. How we crave this nothingness and fill our brains with useless muck. Useless muck which takes away so much heart and spirit from ourselves.

I am tired. I am frankly tired of it, and I crave the touch of nature. Being in her, in her purity. To be received under the clear skies, and to feel the cool earth and grass beneath my feet. To sit under the shade of the tree and ponder. To search for meaning within myself and to make sense of the short remaining life that I have.

To finally have enough quiet so I can connect with my soul, which has been sidelined, ignored, and shut away, by the forces of these despicable devices I surround myself with.

They are stealing myself from me. We let that happen, so so easily.

I yearn to connect with the pure divinity bestowed inside of me. The wisdom which is locked and withers, yet always waits.

I am not connected to myself. I operate from an outer shallow realm. Following pre-made patterns, blindly, without depth or meaning of what it means to me.

I have lost myself somewhere, and I miss it. I miss those parts which would occasionally appear, revealing myself to me.

But life has a grand way of stomping everything down. Like crushed leaves. Yellowed, broken, and disconnected from their source.

Believing in yourself is magic they say. But shouldn't the first step be, to find yourself in the first place?

I know I am doing this as a chore. But do I must. Beauty is never birthed easily. It takes discipline and practice. There will hard days and to overcome is a success for me.

I will hone this. I will embrace it. Till words spill from me as readily as blood spills from a nick. Flowing like freedom.

Forty more words and today would be another day I achieved my target. Though the heart may not be into and the mind may be numb. But I shall persevere because I can. I have the strength, residing somewhere inside of me. There are days when the task seems juvenile, and there are days like today when writing seems like moving mountains.

Today the words came to me, easier than yesterday. They weren't pretty words, laced and perfumed. They were morbid and dark, reeking of grief and gore. A past regrets and will to not live. It is one of those days perhaps. But I am feeling this darkness inside of me, and letting it process itself, so that perhaps someday it would leave my inside realm and give me some room to breathe.

Humanity

About the Creator

Lahori Lady

These are the steamy stories of Lahore's lascivious ladies. The stories which no one tells you. Come over and have a read for yourself.

When I am not writing steamy stories, I write a thought or two, and I post here, to share with you.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Kim2 years ago

    Loved this!

  • I personally feel the same way about technology. It has this control over our minds and bodies.

  • fatima dalani2 years ago

    Thank yo so much sharing the information.

  • Alice Abyss2 years ago

    Loved reading this; keep writing! Where do you live?

  • Khalil Ahmad2 years ago

    A fact should be kept in every mind of Humans on the planet that Sovereignty only belongs to Almighty Allah. Therefore, nobody will feel any thirst for peace in their surroundings when he realizes this fact in his breathing.

  • Khalil Ahmad2 years ago

    There is nothing behind the purity of your inner. Try to get understand the language of your inner string, directly connected to its "CREATOR". By using a straight backbone standing on both the heels of your feet connecting to the Heartbeat. Just realize your breath brain will automatically perform its functions by the stipulated measures coded by its "CREATOR". Therefore, codes are not only wording but Exe files granted by Almighty Allah. Just imagine the first step of your creation you will be reached your binaries. Anyhow, all of your story text is good.

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    Beautiful, thought-provoking and inspiring. An well-written article. :)

  • Gal Mux2 years ago

    I feel you... And as much we we might loathe smartphones, they have become a reliable part of our lives. Very relatable story...

  • Villa2 years ago

    your story very best please read my story & subscribe me https://vocal.media/journal/the-accounts-that-don-t-get-perused

  • Interesting thoughts, I have subscripbed and will read more of your stories

  • Kapil Joshi2 years ago

    Marvellous

  • sleepy drafts2 years ago

    This piece definitely resonates. Thank you for sharing this heartfelt entry.❤️

  • Kaliyah Myers2 years ago

    This is incredibly compelling and very relatable. There are many times in my life where for several months at a time, I will take days off- be it a Tuesday, a Thursday, or the weekends. Whatever my choice of the week is, I'll take those days and shut out electronics, shut out people and reconnect to myself- to nature. To allow my mind a break and my emotions to slip free... I couldn't recommend it enough. Others will understand you need space and time. It's so vital for your mental and emotional health. During those times of the year when I finally take the initiative of my life and let myself back away from everything and everyone else- I am happiest. Even if it isnt the same way, I wish that joy, freedom and relief on you in the ways you need and look to. 💜

  • Exemplar2 years ago

    Super great read! I enjoyed it and highly encourage you to take time to separate from your phone. It is something that your future self will thank you for :D

  • Wes Martin2 years ago

    "They weren't pretty words, laced and perfumed. They were morbid and dark, reeking of grief and gore." I really enjoy these two sentences. Especially the first one. I like the descriptive use of how the words are pretty and then of grief and gore. There is a nice parallelism that contrasts each too.

Lahori LadyWritten by Lahori Lady

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.