Confessions logo

Starting A New Life Ahead

It’s Like The Present2022 Fall

By Mariann CarrollPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Starting A New Life Ahead
Photo by Fred Heap on Unsplash

There Is No Time Like The Present Fall To Start 2022

October 2022

I am starting a new road journey in my life. I don’t know where this road will lead, just like writing a chapter in a book.

My daughter is now an adult and now starting an independent life of her own. I hope, I have instilled in her all she needs to know surviving life successfully and in a healthy way. I hope, I have done a good job as a mother. My goal was to be the best mother, I could be in the situation I was given. I know, I spoiled her because she was my only child. I spend half of my paycheck on her with no regrets. Now it’s time for me to fulfill my lifelong dream.

I no longer work at my ten-year job with no regrets. I started a new business, it a bold move on my part cause sometimes I can be an introvert. I had a difficult pregnancy with my daughter. I have one kidney, My Kidney stopped working at the time because it was having difficulty support two life in one body. I was blessed to have great team of doctors. They figure out a way to give me surgery during pregnancy without harming (my baby) fetus. It did not help having a toxic marriage at the time, too. It’s difficult for me to have babies so I took care of other people babies .

My job ended in spring 2022. I completed all my certifications. I asked for a raised and they would not give it to me. I have been working as a Lead Teacher and all the responsibilities it entities. I see this happen many times in this company, they let go great employees due to them asking for a raised. They give the jobs to new mothers because it’s a smart business move. They collect pay for the children that are enrolled and they pay them minimum wages in the process. I have trained people well , I have given trade secret to help work go smoothly. The sad part is they put employees under the bus when they no longer profit from them. They have no patients for the disabilities. They won’t hire more staff to accommodate, disabilities.

They let go of a nurse, who had cerebral palsy. She was go enough while they did not have a nurse at the time once they hire a new nurse, they let her go. I have seen things but who am I? The court system protect corporations all the time. Maybe it’s a business sense thing? I had a supervisor tripped me cause, I had to be off work for 14 days, due to one of the babies had Covid.( At least that what I think it was) I was tested negative but they wanted me to go back to work. Who do I fallow the government or the company. This was before there were vaccinations. I also call her out on teaching wrong policies during a work meeting / training. I have to learn not to be vocal when I see something wrong cause the company’s management won’t do anything about it. It’s all about the protecting business for them. I did not like, they don’t have minority in management.When I first started they did. They look for people they can controlled. The supervisor who tripped me was let go , cause they could not cover up all the complaints anymore.

Why I stayed? They are positive changes that happen without me saying nothing but by working by example. I wanted to see if I can empower children . I wanted to prove something, I learned sometimes you can and sometimes you cannot. The shortcomings of humanity.

Starting a Business:

Unemployment have a program called SEAP. I went in blindsighted and no knowledge so, I ended up dropping out of the program. SEAP is for unemployed looking to start a business, instead of working on finding a job you work on getting your business established with a score.org mentor.

This summer I started a online business , Website design for small business. It was difficult calling prospect customers because I am an introvert. I had to learn to understand what people needs and want and create it for them. It’s a slow process. I am taking baby steps .

I had a business before, selling Mary Kay products but I only called on my friends and co workers, because they won’t reject me but after a while you don’t want to bother friends and my close network.

My real dream since I was 16 years old was to start a non profit. I never had the confidence to give it a go. I figure if I have a business to financially support my nonprofit , I won’t have to go out and solicit people to give me money for my non profit. I am constantly trying to change my mindset. Trying to figure out how I am going to get it off and running. I have a business plan for the nonprofit but funding is the most important part of it.

Here is my business if you are interested, click here.

Starting a nonprofit:

My goal is to help people who are losing their house/home keep it at the same time help the homeless. I won’t bore you the details of my plan but that the jest of my nonprofit.

Why I wanted to do this nonprofit ? Let’s begin when I was a little girl. My mom had a difficult pregnancy with my youngest brother. She was bed ridden. She had to stop working. She worked at two jobs at the time. My step dad was working too. He also smoke, so some of the income goes to that. My parents own their home if you call paying mortgage owning a home. They could not afford providing for three kids, my grandparents took my middle brother and I in . That’s another story. I was really homeless at four.

My mother finally try to get me and my brother back. My mother was very unfortunate in the decisions that was made. I honestly don’t blame her. She had diabetes, a weak heart and lungs. She was a hard worker but her health is not the best. My parents bought a new house that they rented out, while they were in another country. My grandparents are from the Philippines. They own apartments plus a pig farm. My grandparents promise my mom some land but they did not go thru with it. My parents took us all back to the USA. We end up living in the attic of the house my parents own. We were kind of homeless.We had to wait until the tenant lease was up.

When I was fifteen , left home for a few days to take a break from my household. It was like going from one burning pan to another. I spent it with with my best friend. That’s how I ended up in the Philippines again.

I lived in a lap of luxury with maids but I see people living in the street especially children. It was then I told myself, I will have a foundations that will globally help people have a home or people losing a home. I feel losing a home is a mental issue. There is something blocking the path for some.

This is the road I am trying to get on. I will first start helping in my community and see where it goes from there.

If you want to help me with my nonprofit, here clink on is my gofundme.

I have to believe , I will succeed and keep going : https://youtu.be/5OsYCUSIDEE

My motivation song Believe, Fearless Soul

Fearless Soul

Humanity

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Thank you for taking us with you on this, I am going to read more of your work over the weekend

Mariann CarrollWritten by Mariann Carroll

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.