Confessions logo

Sarah Connor

A response to a ViM ChallAnge called The Dragon Beside Me for International Women's Day in The Year of the Dragon

By Rachel DeemingPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Sarah Connor's guns in Terminator 2: Judgment Day (TriStar Films)

This is going to seem like an odd one. To take a challenge that asks you to think about women who have inspired you and choose a fictional character is perhaps unorthodox. It may not meet the criteria. But then often, neither do I.

I can remember the first time that I saw The Terminator. It terrified me. Imagine being faced with a foe who just will not stop. Who is intent on killing you and that that is the only reason that they exist. Who you think you have dealt with and yet, they still keep coming. Over and over and over again.

There are so many layers to an interpretation of this film:

1. On the surface, it is a futuristic sci-fi thriller which warns of the perils of Artificial Intelligence;

2. Metaphorically, it is about fighting something which doggedly pursues you, despite the fight that you put up - addiction, anxiety, depression to name a few;

3. It is about not giving in when faced with a challenge that seems insurmountable and facing it, even if it means that you may get hurt.

Sarah Connor in the first Terminator film is a mouse. She is thrown into this maelstrom of uncertainty and survival and has none of the skills to be able to combat her foes. She is an innocent, running scared, who is reliant on a man to save her. She shows spirit but I picture her wide-eyed, being dragged hither and thither by Kyle Reese as the determined destructive tread of the Terminator follows and pursues.

It is not for this reason that I write. Detailing the heroism of a woman who is essentially being rescued by a man, albeit a rather handsome brave one is not inspiring.

However, her transformation in Terminator 2: Judgment Day is the reason that I am writing.

I don't know how old I was when I saw this film for the first time. I didn't have kids; it came out in 1991 so I would have been in my late teens but I don't think I saw it until I was in my early twenties.

It created in me all of the gut-swirling tension that the first film did. It is unsettling me now as I write this, thinking about it. That enemy who will not leave you alone; who is determined to bring you down, snuff you out, no matter the cost. You cannot plead; you cannot reason. There is no rationale for mercy in them. You can only run or fight and either course may result in failure. Failure may further result in the death of those you love. It has more intensity for me now than ever.

I remember the scene where we first see Sarah Connor after she has been institutionalised. Her spoutings about killer robots from the future have landed her here. I described her as a mouse from her depiction in the first film but that person is no longer here.

In her place, is someone taut, determined and resolute. She is pulling herself up on a bar - I'm sure that there is a technical name for this - and she is muscular and fit. More than that, there is a stoicism to her that is palpable from the expression on her face and her bearing. This woman knows what she will have to confront and despite her fears, she is going to face that down. Not only is she going to face it, she is going to be ready. She is going to fight and she is making sure that she is going to be at her strongest in order to protect herself and, perhaps more importantly, her son.

When I saw this, I was uplifted beyond measure. Here was a woman who knew, knew, that she was in extreme danger, it dominating her every day. But she wasn't hiding. She was preparing. She was going to face it with everything that she had in her power and she was making sure that she was at her optimal so that when the challenge came, as it would inevitably, she'd be a wall and she'd make it as difficult as she could for her enemy to achieve their goal and harm her loved one.

So, how am I inspired? I often think about the way the world is going and I feel dread. I do. I try not to but I do. War, terrorism, economics over environment, racism, bigotry. I think about conscription as a mother of two boys. I think about apocalypses and whether I'll live to see one or live to come out of one. I fear. This is when I think of Sarah Connor.

Please never let it happen but give me the courage of Sarah if it does.

Family

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    One of my favourite films, the first one especially, and one of my favourite female protagonists. Linda Hamiltin was a boss...her and Sigourney Weaver have always been two women I admired, along with Jamie Lee Curtis. As others have said, inspiration is inspiration, regardless where it comes from. Loved this entry, chum.

  • I never even thought that we could write about a fictional character! Way to think outside the box, Super Rach! Sarah seems like an incredible badass in the second movie! I've watched both but I was just a kid so I remember nothing about the movies. This was such a brilliant entry!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Rock on, Sarah Connor!

  • And always remember, "Ah'll be bahck." Whether you need him or not, Arnold will be obsessed with you. Not a bad dragon to have at your side, this Sarah Connor.

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    I think a fictional character was a great route to go! They can often be clearer(though perhaps more limited) representations of the traits we aspire to than people we know or celebrities.

  • Marie Wilson4 months ago

    Yes, absolutely a fictional character should (and will I'm sure) qualify for this challenge. Great piece, Rachel! (P.S: "chin ups" is what we called them, back when I actually used to do them!)

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    Interesting character slant. She is certainly a person to be emulated. Good read on this person, Rachel.

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    fictional or not, a woman who handles adversity in her bravest positive identity, is why others are empowered, they are set apart and inspiring! Nicely done

  • Gerard DiLeo4 months ago

    I agree with Cathy. Inspiration is inspiration. Where it comes from is irrelevant. Even fictional characters. Great entry.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Holy moley. This is a great entry. I see no reason why a fictional woman can't be the dragon. Especially this one. I loved the T movies, and her character, and I pray we never get to the point where we need to become her. Like you though, I fear that where thus crazy world is headed.

  • Test4 months ago

    Sarah Connor serves as a powerful symbol of resilience and courage, inspiring to confront their fears and uncertainties with bravery and determination.

  • Test4 months ago

    Super take on the challenge- no reason why fictional women can't be inspiring! I have not seen any of the films but definitely get the idea! Love that there was a transformative aspect to her developmet also. Great ending , although this world is such a screwed up place that we do find ourwelves thnking of tthose things

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.