Confessions logo

Obediah

A Seven Days In Article From 2018

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
9
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

Every so often a post gets some extra attention on my Seven Davys In blog. This is from six years ago and the name just made me want to go and see what I had written about.

This was from a month in which I posted 54 times which I think was a record on the blog at the time. That year I posted 316 times but beat it in 2019 with 368 posts, which was just over one a day.

In 2023 I posted 46 times on Seven Days In which is a little under one a week, though I did finally have my millionth visit (probably a robot) but I did 866 posts on Vocal which is almost three a day.

Part of the reason is that Vocal is just writing with the odd link whereas Seven Days In requires some code manipulation that takes extra time.

This is that excellent book where Obediah is the viallain.

Obediah

One of the lowlife characters from the excellent "Fourteen Letters" that I am reading at the moment. It starts off like a full-on train, then I thought it was going to get boring, having a Victorian timeframe setting, but no it just through a lot of connected threads into the pot and every so often you get those "Aaahhh" moments. I will definitely be seeing this one through to the end.

This is now my highest posting month, and I don't think I will do it again once I've hit #August50 (which you can check on the link above) as you can't always think of something to write about, although in this amazing world, there should always be something that you can put down a few words about, although you do sometimes hit a mental brick wall.

We're on the middle day of the Bank Holiday and I have some very mundane shopping today and also a few basic chores to do, but the main thing is I am getting some rest while still exercising my mental faculties.

6Music did a feature on Trojan Records to celebrate its 50th anniversary which you can visit above.

The real conundrum about sixties ska which was the music of Jamaican and Windrush Immigrants is that it was also the music taken up by racist skinheads which was a real mystery although it was very working class / classless music so maybe that was the attraction.

It was also prevalent on fairgrounds as well, as I remember from my short time working on one. I lasted maybe three days at the fair on Moor Park in Preston, and the guy who ran the ride was a miserable parsimonious git, so not conducive to me continuing my employment there.

So maybe we will go for Symarip's "Skinhead Moonstomp" one of the many songs on my huge Trojan Box Set collection, though probably the most played song was "The Liquidator" by The Harry J All Stars which I believe is the walk-out music for Chelsea Football Club.

Slade Looking Hard

I don't know if you know but Slade (as Ambrose Slade and early on) were a skinhead band so I enclose a picture, with Mr Holder looking very threatening on the right.

Enjoy your Day My Friends.

Concluding Thoughts

I always think that one day I will not find anything to write about, and I suppose recycling these Seven Days In posts shows laziness on my part, but I am fairly certain that my Vocal friends and audience will not have read this glimpse into my distant past, and revisiting it, brought back some memories that I thought were worth sharing.

Thank you for letting me indulge myself.

FamilyTeenage yearsTabooHumanityFriendship
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    I'm assuming that you have long ago finished reading the book & enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Natalie Wilkinson4 months ago

    I clicked on the title out of curiosity too. It's the name of my husband's sailing dory. It looks like an interesting book. I like the cover.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    This was fantastic! I think we all have those worries about where the next idea will come in...and I like that part label and song, too (weird people, those skins).

  • LONDON 1881. A MURDERED BRIDE. A CRYPTIC MESSAGE. A DANGEROUS SECRET. Omgggg now I have to add The Fourteenth Letter to my TBR!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.