Confessions logo

Nancy (part 2)

that one friend

By Living tales💫Published about a year ago • 3 min read
Nancy (part 2)
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Every single piece of me shattered. I couldn't get myself to speak even a word. Without even saying a word, I went back running to my home. It was the last time I saw Nancy, I didn't say goodbye because I didn't want to and how could I, she was my only friend. I was left all alone by myself once again, once again I had no one to talk to, no one to laugh with and no one to spend my time with. I stopped going to the park. Years went by, I graduated from university and started doing a job. Had my own place. But Nancy was still living in my heart. The Day she moved into our neighborhood and the day we became friends, everything was there in my head as if it was yesterday. One day, I went to a restaurant near my apartment, where I used to go to eat and was having dinner, when I heard some lady laughing and within a fraction of a second I knew it. It was her, it was Nancy. My heart skipped a beat. I stood up and went to her without even a second thought and not even looking at who is she with. She recognized me. Tears rolled down my cheeks and I hugged her tightly. I didn't exactly remember for how long I hugged her. It was the day when we met again after years of being apart. It was one of the very few happiest days of my life. We exchanged numbers and addresses . We started seeing each other once again. My crush for Nancy grew huge. Everytime I used to see her, it made my heart race and my pulse rate rose to an uncontrollable level. I used to feel butterflies in my stomach. It was Nancy's birthday that weekend and I was planning to take full advantage of this opportunity by proposing her. I planned the entire dinner, bought the ring and wrote a card with all my feelings in it. I wanted to make it unforgettable for her. I wanted to make it a perfect combination of fairytale and love. I wanted her to have the world's best proposal and I wanted her to know what she was to me. On her birthday, I received a call from the hospital. I rushed to the hospital. Nancy's condition was not good. Her father told me that she was diagnosed with brain tumor three years ago and since then she had been going through treatments. It was the second heartbreaking and shattering moment for me, but this one was far greater than the last time. I had been crying in the hallway of the hospital for past two hours. I couldn't believe my ears. Was I going to lose Nancy once again? Was that the end? Wouldn't I be able to marry her? How could I let her go? When suddenly I heard nurses running to Nancy's room and calling the doctor. I also wanted to go in the room, but they didn't let me. The doctor couldn't save her. Once again I wasn't able to say goodbye to Nancy, but this time it was her who didn't let me say it. My soul left my body. I was left with nothing except for my body. It's been around two years since Nancy passed away but to this day I am looking for her, that someday she'll appear from somewhere and will hug me tightly, as I did and I will be able to tell her that how much I love her......

FamilyFriendshipDatingChildhood

About the Creator

Living talesđź’«

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Living talesđź’«Written by Living talesđź’«

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.